This is PermitBase’s published record for Unincorporated Daggett County as of 2026-07-21. It has since been superseded — see the current record. A historical record reflects what PermitBase had verified at that time; it may not capture a real-world change the jurisdiction had made but PermitBase had not yet verified, and it includes any errors we later corrected. Snapshots are never edited retroactively.
Unincorporated Daggett County building permits
Unincorporated Daggett County, Utah — as published 2026-07-21.
Reviewed 2026-07-08 · Source
Codes adopted
Permit types & fees
Residential Building Permit
VerifiedRequired for new residential construction (stick-built or manufactured), additions, remodels, demolition, and moving of residential structures in unincorporated Daggett County, per County Code § 8-3-4. Issued by the Daggett County Planning & Zoning office; inspections performed by the county Building Inspector.
Verified 2026-07-08 · Source
Requirements
- New single-family dwelling construction (stick-built or manufactured home on private lot or in a park)
- Additions, remodels, or demolition of a residential structure
- Accessory structures over 200 square feet (structures under 200 sq ft are exempt per County Code § 8-6A-1A / IRC R105.2)
- Detailed site plan showing north point, lot lines, existing structures/easements, proposed construction, motor vehicle access, and (if not on public sewer) an approved septic system drawing
- Authorization from Daggett County Planning and Zoning Commission confirming zoning/setback compliance
- Water/Sewer Connection or Wastewater Permit Verification Form signed by the applicable provider (no permit issues without this)
- Complete list of licensed contractors (or Owner/Builder Certification if self-performing) required before Certificate of Occupancy is issued
Required documents
- RequiredResidential Building Permit ApplicationCounty application form covering owner/applicant info, structure details, and contractor list; available by mail from the Planning & Zoning office (435-784-3222 ext. 230)
- RequiredDetailed Site PlanNorth point, lot lines, adjacent streets/right-of-ways, existing structures/easements (fully dimensioned), proposed construction location, motor vehicle access/parking, and septic system drawing if not on public sewer
- RequiredTwo Complete Sets of Construction PlansElevations (front/rear/side), wall and floor framing, beam sizes over 6 ft, fireplace/wood stove type, floor plans with window/door openings, roof framing, electrical/plumbing/mechanical plans with RESCHECK heat-loss calculation, footings and foundations. Plans must bear a State of Utah stamp of approval.
- RequiredWater/Sewer Connection or Wastewater Permit Verification FormSigned by the appropriate water/sewer provider or TriCounty Health (wastewater); Taylor Flat properties require a well permit
- OptionalOwner/Builder Certification and Agreement to Comply with Construction Trades Licensing ActRequired if the owner is self-performing new residential construction or a remodel/addition; notarized, filed with Utah DOPL
- OptionalManufacturer Floor Plans / Installation PlansRequired for mobile and manufactured homes, including footing and foundation details per manufacturer's set-up requirements
Fee schedule
| Fee type | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Application Deposit — Dwelling | $600 (nonrefundable at application; credited toward final plan-check/permit cost) | Daggett County Residential Building Permit packet, 'FEES' section, current as of 2026-07-08 site verification |
| Application Deposit — Accessory Structure | $200 (nonrefundable at application; credited toward final plan-check/permit cost) | Daggett County Residential Building Permit packet, 'FEES' section |
| Final Permit Fee (valuation-based) | Calculated as per current State of Utah guidelines (ICC Building Valuation Data) | Daggett County Residential Building Permit packet states fees are 'CALCULATED AS PER CURRENT STATE GUIDELINES' — no independent county fee table was found published online; total is deposit plus a state-valuation-formula balance determined by the Building Official at plan check |
| State Surcharge | 1% of permit fee | Daggett County Residential Building Permit packet: 'ALL PERMITS ARE ASSESSED A 1% STATE SURCHARGE IN ADDITION TO THE BUILDING AND PLAN CHECK FEES' |
Commercial Building Permit
Required for new commercial construction, additions, remodels, demolition, or moving of commercial/pre-manufactured buildings in unincorporated Daggett County. Plans must be stamped by both a Utah-licensed architect/engineer and the county Fire Chief before the Building Official issues the permit.
Reviewed 2026-07-20 · Source
Requirements
- New commercial building construction, addition, remodel, demolition, or moving of a structure
- Site plan meeting County Code § 8-2-3 definitions
- Three 24x36 sets of building plans drawn to scale; at least one wet-stamped by a Utah-licensed architect and engineer
- Plans must show type of construction (IBC 2015 Ch. 6), occupancy type (IBC 2015 Ch. 3), and occupant load (IBC 2015 § 1004) as cited in the county's own commercial plans checklist
- Plans must be stamped by the Fire Chief (who retains one set) before the Building Official will issue the permit
Required documents
- RequiredCommercial Building Permit ApplicationCounty application form covering owner/applicant, valuation, structure details, and full contractor list
- RequiredCommercial Building Plans Checklist PackageThree 24x36 sets of scaled plans including elevations, wall cross-sections, roof detail, occupancy/occupant-load calculations per IBC 2015; one set wet-stamped by architect/engineer
- RequiredFire Chief StampPlans must be reviewed and stamped by the Manila/Dutch John Fire Department Fire Chief before permit issuance
- RequiredComplete List of ContractorsRequired before Certificate of Occupancy will be issued
Fee schedule
| Fee type | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Application Deposit | Not separately published for commercial (residential deposit schedule is $200 accessory / $600 dwelling; commercial deposit amount not stated on the public application form) | Daggett County Commercial Building Permit application confirms a nonrefundable deposit is required and credited to final plan-check total, but does not state the commercial dollar figure — contact Planning & Zoning (435-784-3218 ext. 230) to confirm |
| State Surcharge | 1% of permit fee | Consistent with the surcharge stated on the county's residential permit packet; commercial application does not separately restate this but no evidence it differs |
Electrical, Mechanical, and Plumbing Permit
Required for electrical, mechanical, or plumbing work in unincorporated Daggett County, for residential, commercial, or agricultural improvements, issued via a single combined application form. EV charger/EVSE installation is electrical work and falls under this general combined permit; the county publishes no EV-specific application, fee, or process, and no separate fee schedule for this permit is published at all.
Reviewed 2026-07-08 · Source
Requirements
- Electrical work (new service, rewiring, panel work)
- Mechanical work (HVAC, furnace, ductwork)
- Plumbing work (fixtures, water/gas lines)
- Residential work may be self-performed by the owner ('SELF (IF RESIDENTIAL)' option on application); commercial/agricultural work requires a licensed contractor
Required documents
- RequiredElectrical, Mechanical and Plumbing Building Permit ApplicationSingle combined county form; describes the work, lists licensed contractor(s) or 'self' for residential owner-performed work
- OptionalOwner/Builder Certification and Agreement to Comply with Construction Trades Licensing ActRequired for owner-performed work; filed with Utah DOPL
Fee schedule
| Fee type | Amount | Notes |
|---|
Roofing, Siding, Window, and Deck Permit
Required for roofing, siding, window replacement, and deck construction/alteration in unincorporated Daggett County, issued via a single combined application form. Incomplete applications will not be accepted.
Reviewed 2026-07-08 · Source
Requirements
- Roof replacement or re-roofing
- Siding replacement or installation
- Window replacement
- New deck construction or deck alterations
- Detailed description of proposed improvement required on application
Required documents
- RequiredRoofing, Siding, Window and Deck Building Permit ApplicationSingle combined county form; general contractor or 'SELF (IF RESIDENTIAL)' for owner-performed work
- OptionalOwner/Builder Certification and Agreement to Comply with Construction Trades Licensing ActRequired for owner-performed work; filed with Utah DOPL
Fee schedule
| Fee type | Amount | Notes |
|---|
Accessory / Outbuilding Building Permit
VerifiedRequired for accessory structures and outbuildings over 200 square feet in unincorporated Daggett County. Structures 200 square feet or less are exempt per County Code § 8-6A-1A and IRC R105.2.
Verified 2026-07-08 · Source
Requirements
- New accessory building, addition, remodel, or demolition of an accessory structure
- Only required for structures over 200 square feet — smaller structures are exempt
- Same contractor listing and plan requirements as the residential permit for attached/detached garage, finished space, etc.
Required documents
- RequiredAccessory/Outbuilding Building Permit ApplicationCounty application form covering structure size/use, value, and contractor list
Fee schedule
| Fee type | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Application Deposit — Accessory Structure | $200 (nonrefundable at application; credited toward final plan-check/permit cost) | Daggett County Residential Building Permit packet, 'FEES' section — same deposit schedule applies to accessory structures |
| State Surcharge | 1% of permit fee | Consistent with county-wide surcharge stated on the residential permit packet |
Demolition Permit
Required for demolition of any structure in unincorporated Daggett County. Requires sign-off from utility providers, Tri County Health, and fire department, plus State of Utah Division of Air Quality asbestos notification if performed by a hired contractor.
Reviewed 2026-07-08 · Source
Requirements
- Complete or partial demolition of any structure
- Utility disconnect confirmation from electric provider (Bridger Valley Electric or Moon Lake Electric), Town of Manila Water/Sewer, Manila/Dutch John Fire Dept, propane company, and Tri County Health
- Asbestos inspection required if demolition is performed by a hired contractor (private homeowners performing their own demolition are exempt under Utah House Bill 285, but are still regulated by the county for asbestos determination)
- Two-week advance notification to the Utah DEQ Division of Air Quality is required regardless of asbestos findings
- Road Department and Sheriff's Office approval required if any public road will be blocked
Required documents
- RequiredDemolition Permit ApplicationCounty application form requiring signatures/approvals from utility, fire, and health providers before the Building Official approves
- RequiredState Air Quality Demolition NotificationUtah DEQ Division of Air Quality asbestos/demolition notification form, required two weeks prior to demolition (801-536-4000)
- OptionalAsbestos InspectionRequired if demolition is performed by a hired contractor; private homeowners performing their own demolition are exempt per Utah House Bill 285
Fee schedule
| Fee type | Amount | Notes |
|---|
Commercial Tenant Improvement / Tenant Finish Permit
Unincorporated Daggett County does NOT publish a separate tenant-improvement/tenant-finish permit application, fee, or checklist. Direct inspection of the county's own Commercial Building Permit Application (fetched 2026-07-19; PDF text extracted with pdftotext) confirms the single 'COMMERCIAL BUILDING PERMIT APPLICATION' form includes a 'Type of Improvement' checkbox listing 'New Building, Addition, Remodel, Demo, Pre-Manufactured Building, Moving' as options on one combined form — a tenant-improvement/tenant-finish project is filed under this same application (checking 'Remodel' or 'Addition' as applicable), reviewed against the same Commercial Building Plans Checklist, and subject to the same fee/deposit mechanism as new commercial construction. No web search of daggettcounty.gov or general search engines located any Daggett-specific tenant-improvement or tenant-finish document, fee line, or process distinct from this general commercial application.
Reviewed 2026-07-19 · Source
Requirements
- Tenant improvement / tenant finish work within an existing commercial building, filed by checking 'Remodel' (or 'Addition,' as applicable) under 'Type of Improvement' on the county's single Commercial Building Permit Application — Daggett County does not publish a separate tenant-improvement-specific application
- Site plan meeting County Code § 8-2-3 definitions
- Three 24x36 sets of building plans drawn to scale; at least one wet-stamped by a Utah-licensed architect and engineer
- Plans must show type of construction (IBC 2015 Ch. 6), occupancy type (IBC 2015 Ch. 3), and occupant load (IBC 2015 § 1004) as cited in the county's own commercial plans checklist
- Plans must be stamped by the Fire Chief (who retains one set) before the Building Official will issue the permit
Required documents
- RequiredCommercial Building Permit ApplicationThe same county application form used for all commercial work (new construction, addition, remodel/tenant improvement, demolition, pre-manufactured, or moving) — check 'Remodel' or 'Addition' under 'Type of Improvement' for a tenant-improvement/tenant-finish project.
- RequiredCommercial Building Plans Checklist PackageThree 24x36 sets of scaled plans including elevations, wall cross-sections, roof detail, and occupancy/occupant-load calculations per IBC 2015; one set wet-stamped by architect/engineer. The county's checklist states it 'is not all-inclusive and individual projects may require different information,' so a smaller interior-only tenant-finish scope may not require every line item (e.g., roof or footing details) that a ground-up shell building would.
- RequiredFire Chief StampPlans must be reviewed and stamped by the Manila/Dutch John Fire Department Fire Chief before permit issuance
- RequiredComplete List of ContractorsRequired before Certificate of Occupancy will be issued
Fee schedule
| Fee type | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Application Deposit | Not separately published for commercial or tenant-improvement work (residential deposit schedule is $200 accessory / $600 dwelling; no commercial or TI-specific dollar figure is stated on the public application form) | Daggett County Commercial Building Permit application confirms a nonrefundable deposit is required and credited to final plan-check total, but does not state the dollar figure for any commercial… Show full citationHideDaggett County Commercial Building Permit application confirms a nonrefundable deposit is required and credited to final plan-check total, but does not state the dollar figure for any commercial sub-type including tenant improvement — contact Planning & Zoning (435-784-3218 ext. 230) to confirm |
| State Surcharge | 1% of permit fee | Consistent with the surcharge stated on the county's residential permit packet; the commercial application does not separately restate this but no evidence it differs for tenant-improvement work |
EV Charger / EVSE Permit
Daggett County publishes no distinct EV charger / EVSE permit or fee. A home or commercial EV charger installation (new circuit) is electrical work and is covered under the county's combined Electrical, Mechanical, and Plumbing Permit — check the 'Electrical' box on that single application form — but the county publishes no fee schedule for this permit at all, and does not name EV chargers, EVSE, or charging stations anywhere in its permit materials.
Reviewed 2026-07-20 · Source
Requirements
- Installation of a Level 2 or DC fast EV charger (EVSE) at a residential, commercial, or agricultural property in unincorporated Daggett County
- New dedicated 240V circuit and/or panel capacity to serve the charger, checked as 'Electrical' scope on the combined permit application
- Residential work may be self-performed by the owner ('SELF (IF RESIDENTIAL)' option); commercial/agricultural work requires a licensed contractor
Required documents
- RequiredElectrical, Mechanical and Plumbing Building Permit ApplicationSingle combined county form; check the 'Electrical' box and describe the EV charger circuit installation.
- OptionalOwner/Builder Certification and Agreement to Comply with Construction Trades Licensing ActRequired for owner-performed work; filed with Utah DOPL.
Fee schedule
| Fee type | Amount | Notes |
|---|
Solar / Solar PV Permit
Daggett County publishes no distinct solar or solar-PV permit application, checklist, or fee. Solar electricity systems are instead governed as a zoning/accessory-use classification under County Code Title 8, Chapter 14 (Solar Electricity Systems, §§ 8-14-1 through 8-14-5): structurally attached (roof-mount) solar panels are a permitted accessory use in all zones subject to height limits, while freestanding (ground-mount) solar panels are treated as an accessory building. The construction/electrical work itself is then processed through the county's existing general permits — the Accessory/Outbuilding Building Permit for a ground-mount array's support structure, and the combined Electrical, Mechanical, and Plumbing Permit for the PV circuit/inverter/interconnection — not a standalone solar permit.
Reviewed 2026-07-21 · Source
Requirements
- Structurally attached (roof-mount) PV panels: a permitted accessory use in all zones per County Code § 8-14-5, subject to the requirements for such together with all other applicable building codes and ordinances; on a sloped roof the array shall not project vertically above the peak of the roof, and on a flat roof shall not project vertically more than five feet (5') above the roof
- Freestanding (ground-mount) PV arrays: considered an accessory building per County Code § 8-14-4 and subject to the same requirements as an accessory structure — a building permit (Accessory/Outbuilding Building Permit) is required if the mount/structure exceeds 200 square feet; structures of 200 sq ft or less are exempt per County Code § 8-6A-1A / IRC R105.2
- PV electrical interconnection (new circuit, inverter, panel tie-in, battery storage wiring) is electrical work filed under the county's combined Electrical, Mechanical, and Plumbing Permit application — check the 'Electrical' box
- New residential or commercial construction that incorporates rooftop solar as part of the original build is reviewed within that project's Residential or Commercial Building Permit plan set rather than as a separate solar filing
- Residential work may be self-performed by the owner ('SELF (IF RESIDENTIAL)' option on the electrical application); commercial/agricultural work requires a licensed contractor
Required documents
- RequiredElectrical, Mechanical and Plumbing Building Permit ApplicationSingle combined county form used for the PV electrical interconnection (new circuit/inverter/tie-in) — check the 'Electrical' box and describe the solar installation.
- OptionalAccessory/Outbuilding Building Permit ApplicationRequired only if a freestanding/ground-mount solar array's support structure exceeds 200 square feet, per County Code § 8-14-4 (freestanding solar panels are considered an accessory building) and § 8-6A-1A (200 sq ft accessory exemption).
- OptionalOwner/Builder Certification and Agreement to Comply with Construction Trades Licensing ActRequired for owner-performed work; filed with Utah DOPL.
Fee schedule
| Fee type | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Application Deposit — Accessory Structure (ground-mount array over 200 sq ft only) | $200 (nonrefundable at application; credited toward final plan-check/permit cost) | Same accessory-structure deposit schedule published in the Daggett County Residential Building Permit packet's 'FEES' section; Show full citationHideSame accessory-structure deposit schedule published in the Daggett County Residential Building Permit packet's 'FEES' section; applies only if the ground-mount racking/support structure exceeds 200 sq ft and requires an Accessory/Outbuilding Building Permit per County Code § 8-14-4. |
| State Surcharge | 1% of permit fee | County-wide surcharge stated on the residential permit packet; applies to any permit fee assessed, including an accessory-structure permit for a ground-mount array. |
| Electrical, Mechanical, and Plumbing Permit Fee (PV interconnection scope) | No flat dollar figure published. County Code § 8-3-4.M (Building Permits — Fees) states: 'Any fee charged for the issuance of building permits shall be based upon the current International Building Code as recommended therein' — i.e., the legally controlling fee mechanism is an ICC/IBC valuation-based schedule, not an independently published county dollar amount. | SECOND INDEPENDENT RE-VERIFICATION PASS (2026-07-21): re-fetched the combined Electrical, Mechanical and Plumbing Building Permit Application PDF directly and ran it through pdftotext (not OCR) —… Show full citationHideSECOND INDEPENDENT RE-VERIFICATION PASS (2026-07-21): re-fetched the combined Electrical, Mechanical and Plumbing Building Permit Application PDF directly and ran it through pdftotext (not OCR) — confirmed it contains a genuine embedded text layer (owner/applicant fields, contractor fields, the 5-point acknowledgment, the DOPL Owner/Builder Certification page), ruling out the possibility that this is a scanned image hiding a printed rate table; there is no dollar figure anywhere on the form, including no 'Deposit Amount: $___' line — only 'Deposit amount paid at the time of application is nonrefundable' with no number filled in or printed. Re-checked the county's Applications index (daggettcounty.gov/496/Applications) for a separate fee-schedule/rate document — none exists among the ~20 listed forms. Ran a Wayback Machine CDX API crawl of every archived daggettcounty.gov/DocumentCenter/View document (277 unique documents captured) filtering for 'fee' — the only fee-schedule documents that exist at all are two County Recorder's-office schedules (Property Records Fee Schedule; Recording Fees Effective 05/14/2019), both unrelated to building/electrical/mechanical/plumbing permits. Web searches ('Daggett County Utah building permit fee schedule', 'Daggett County electrical mechanical plumbing permit fee', citizenportal.ai meeting coverage) surfaced nothing beyond the same $200/$600 deposit figures already documented here. NEW FINDING (not previously captured in this file): County Code § 8-3-4.M, fetched directly from codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/daggettcout/latest/daggettco_ut/0-0-0-2337, is the actual legal fee provision and explains WHY no flat number is published — the ordinance itself defers to the IBC's own recommended fee schedule rather than setting a county dollar figure. This is a real, sourced legal fact, but it is not itself a dollar figure, so confidence remains 'partial' for this fee line; the verified $200 accessory-building-permit fee elsewhere in this entry is unaffected and unchanged. |
Sources & verification
Key facts verified against official sources. Last reviewed 2026-07-08.
Fee schedules
Applications & forms
Codes & ordinances
Fees, timelines, and adopted codes are researched from each jurisdiction's published records — see how we verify. Requirements change and vary by project, so always confirm the current details with the Unincorporated Daggett County building department before you submit. PermitBase is an independent reference and is not affiliated with any government agency.