Skip to main content
PermitBase

You are viewing the permanent link for the record currently in effect, published 2026-08-25.

Unincorporated Daggett County building permits

Unincorporated Daggett County, Utah — as published 2026-08-25.

Reviewed 2026-07-08 · Source

Codes adopted

2024 International Building Code (IBC), including Appendices C and J — legally controlling in unincorporated Daggett County per Utah Code § 15A-2-103(1)(a), in force statewide since July 1, 2026 and binding on counties per § 15A-1-204. HISTORY / COUNTY LAG: Daggett County's own Commercial Building Permit plans checklist still expressly cites the long-superseded 2015 IBC by section ('Type of construction (required) IBC 2015 Chapter 6', 'Occupancy type (required) IBC 2015 Chapter 3', 'Occupant load (required) IBC 2015 Section 1004') — re-confirmed by direct PDF fetch 2026-07-16; see NOTE below.2021 International Residential Code (IRC), including Appendix AQ — legally controlling in unincorporated Daggett County per Utah Code § 15A-2-103(1)(b) and (1)(c); the IRC edition was NOT changed by the July 1, 2026 statewide amendment and remains the 2021 edition. HISTORY / COUNTY LAG: Daggett County's own Residential Building Permit packet still expressly cites the long-superseded 2015 IRC ('SECTION R109 OF THE 2015 INTERNATIONAL RESIDENTIAL CODE REQUIRES THAT YOU HAVE INSPECTION DURING CONSTRUCTION', with the full R109.1 series inspection text reproduced in the county's own packet) — see NOTE below.Utah Code § 15A-2-103 sets the statewide-adopted baseline: the 2024 editions of the IBC, IPC, IMC, IFGC, IECC and IEBC, plus the residential provisions of the 2024 ISPSC, are in force statewide effective July 1, 2026, alongside the 2021 IRC and the 2023 NEC (both unchanged). Under § 15A-1-204 this baseline binds counties as well as municipalities. Daggett County's own public permit packets — residential and commercial — still cite the 2015 IBC/IRC by section number, and the Commercial Building Permit Plans Checklist also cites the 2015 IMC for mechanical design (IMC § 312) and duct sizing (IMC § 603). The statewide edition under § 15A-2-103 is the legally controlling one, so design to it and expect the county's handouts to reference the older editions.2023 National Electrical Code (NEC) — Utah Code § 15A-2-103(1)(g); statewide in force (Daggett County's own permit forms do not name a specific NEC edition)

Permit types & fees

Residential Building Permit

Verified

Required for new residential construction (stick-built or manufactured), additions, remodels, demolition, and moving of residential structures in unincorporated Daggett County, per County Code § 8-3-4. Issued by the Daggett County Planning & Zoning office; inspections performed by the county Building Inspector.

Verified 2026-07-08 · Source

Requirements

  • New single-family dwelling construction (stick-built or manufactured home on private lot or in a park)
  • Additions, remodels, or demolition of a residential structure
  • Accessory structures over 200 square feet (structures under 200 sq ft are exempt per County Code § 8-6A-1A / IRC R105.2)
  • Detailed site plan showing north point, lot lines, existing structures/easements, proposed construction, motor vehicle access, and (if not on public sewer) an approved septic system drawing
  • Authorization from Daggett County Planning and Zoning Commission confirming zoning/setback compliance
  • Water/Sewer Connection or Wastewater Permit Verification Form signed by the applicable provider (no permit issues without this)
  • Complete list of licensed contractors (or Owner/Builder Certification if self-performing) required before Certificate of Occupancy is issued

Required documents

  • RequiredResidential Building Permit ApplicationCounty application form covering owner/applicant info, structure details, and contractor list; available by mail from the Planning & Zoning office (435-784-3222 ext. 230)
  • RequiredDetailed Site PlanNorth point, lot lines, adjacent streets/right-of-ways, existing structures/easements (fully dimensioned), proposed construction location, motor vehicle access/parking, and septic system drawing if not on public sewer
  • RequiredTwo Complete Sets of Construction PlansElevations (front/rear/side), wall and floor framing, beam sizes over 6 ft, fireplace/wood stove type, floor plans with window/door openings, roof framing, electrical/plumbing/mechanical plans with RESCHECK heat-loss calculation, footings and foundations. Plans must bear a State of Utah stamp of approval.
  • RequiredWater/Sewer Connection or Wastewater Permit Verification FormSigned by the appropriate water/sewer provider or TriCounty Health (wastewater); Taylor Flat properties require a well permit
  • OptionalOwner/Builder Certification and Agreement to Comply with Construction Trades Licensing ActRequired if the owner is self-performing new residential construction or a remodel/addition; notarized, filed with Utah DOPL
  • OptionalManufacturer Floor Plans / Installation PlansRequired for mobile and manufactured homes, including footing and foundation details per manufacturer's set-up requirements

Fee schedule

Fee typeAmountNotes
Application Deposit — Dwelling$600 (nonrefundable at application; credited toward final plan-check/permit cost)Daggett County Residential Building Permit packet, 'FEES' section, current as of 2026-07-08 site verification
Application Deposit — Accessory Structure$200 (nonrefundable at application; credited toward final plan-check/permit cost)Daggett County Residential Building Permit packet, 'FEES' section
Final Permit Fee (valuation-based)Calculated as per current State of Utah guidelines (ICC Building Valuation Data)Daggett County Residential Building Permit packet states fees are 'CALCULATED AS PER CURRENT STATE GUIDELINES' — no independent county fee table was found published online; total is deposit plus a state-valuation-formula balance determined by the Building Official at plan check
State Surcharge1% of permit feeDaggett County Residential Building Permit packet: 'ALL PERMITS ARE ASSESSED A 1% STATE SURCHARGE IN ADDITION TO THE BUILDING AND PLAN CHECK FEES'

Commercial Building Permit

Required for new commercial construction, additions, remodels, demolition, or moving of commercial/pre-manufactured buildings in unincorporated Daggett County. Plans must be stamped by both a Utah-licensed architect/engineer and the county Fire Chief before the Building Official issues the permit.

Reviewed 2026-08-02 · Source

Requirements

  • New commercial building construction, addition, remodel, demolition, or moving of a structure
  • Site plan meeting County Code § 8-2-3 definitions
  • Three 24x36 sets of building plans drawn to scale; at least one wet-stamped by a Utah-licensed architect and engineer
  • Plans must show type of construction (IBC 2015 Ch. 6), occupancy type (IBC 2015 Ch. 3), and occupant load (IBC 2015 § 1004) as cited in the county's own commercial plans checklist
  • Plans must be stamped by the Fire Chief (who retains one set) before the Building Official will issue the permit

Required documents

  • RequiredCommercial Building Permit ApplicationCounty application form covering owner/applicant, valuation, structure details, and full contractor list
  • RequiredCommercial Building Plans Checklist PackageThree 24x36 sets of scaled plans including elevations, wall cross-sections, roof detail, occupancy/occupant-load calculations per IBC 2015; one set wet-stamped by architect/engineer
  • RequiredFire Chief StampPlans must be reviewed and stamped by the Manila/Dutch John Fire Department Fire Chief before permit issuance
  • RequiredComplete List of ContractorsRequired before Certificate of Occupancy will be issued

Fee schedule

Fee typeAmountNotes
Application DepositNot separately published for commercial (residential deposit schedule is $200 accessory / $600 dwelling; commercial deposit amount not stated on the public application form)
The Daggett County Commercial Building Permit application confirms a nonrefundable deposit is required and credited to the final plan-check total, but does not state the commercial dollar figure —… Show full citation

The Daggett County Commercial Building Permit application confirms a nonrefundable deposit is required and credited to the final plan-check total, but does not state the commercial dollar figure — contact Planning & Zoning (435-784-3218 ext. 230) to confirm. County Code § 8-3-4.M (codelibrary.amlegal.com) confirms the FINAL fee (beyond any deposit) is IBC-valuation-based rather than a flat figure, but the ordinance is silent on deposit amounts specifically, so it does not settle the commercial deposit question. No county-specific commercial deposit or fee figure is published elsewhere: the county's '2018-2019 Ordinances & Resolutions' index (daggettcounty.gov/515, 45 documents) surfaces no Board-of-County-Commissioners fee-schedule resolution for building permits — a mechanism the county does use for PUD/subdivision fees per County Code § 8-7-10 ('See fee schedule established by the board of county commissioners') — and Resolution 18-17, the one fee resolution identified there, covers only Dutch John utility water/sewer rates, unrelated to building permits. The county's Conditional Use Permit Application follows the same pattern: a blank 'Fee ___________' field, set administratively rather than published.

State Surcharge1% of permit feeConsistent with the surcharge stated on the county's residential permit packet; commercial application does not separately restate this but no evidence it differs

Electrical, Mechanical, and Plumbing Permit

Verified

Required for electrical, mechanical, or plumbing work in unincorporated Daggett County, for residential, commercial, or agricultural improvements, issued via a single combined application form. EV charger/EVSE installation is electrical work and falls under this general combined permit; the county publishes no EV-specific application, fee, or process, and no separate fee schedule for this permit is published at all.

Verified 2026-07-23 · Source

Requirements

  • Electrical work (new service, rewiring, panel work)
  • Mechanical work (HVAC, furnace, ductwork)
  • Plumbing work (fixtures, water/gas lines)
  • Residential work may be self-performed by the owner ('SELF (IF RESIDENTIAL)' option on application); commercial/agricultural work requires a licensed contractor

Required documents

  • RequiredElectrical, Mechanical and Plumbing Building Permit ApplicationSingle combined county form; describes the work, lists licensed contractor(s) or 'self' for residential owner-performed work
  • OptionalOwner/Builder Certification and Agreement to Comply with Construction Trades Licensing ActRequired for owner-performed work; filed with Utah DOPL

Fee schedule

Fee typeAmountNotes
Application DepositRequired, but no dollar figure published — the county's own Electrical, Mechanical and Plumbing Building Permit Application states only 'Deposit amount paid at the time of application is nonrefundable but will be credited towards the final [cost]', with no number filled in or printed anywhere on the form
County Code § 8-3-4.M ('Fees: Any fee charged for the issuance of building permits shall be based upon the current International Building Code as recommended therein'), published at… Show full citation

County Code § 8-3-4.M ('Fees: Any fee charged for the issuance of building permits shall be based upon the current International Building Code as recommended therein'), published at codelibrary.amlegal.com, is the governing legal provision — Daggett County's building-permit fee mechanism is legally pegged to IBC valuation tables rather than an independently published flat dollar figure, the same treatment as the residential and commercial building permit 'Final Permit Fee' lines for this county. The application PDF confirms the same. No separate, county-published electrical/mechanical/plumbing fee schedule exists; contact Planning & Zoning (435-784-3218 ext. 230) for a project-specific quote.

State Surcharge1% of permit feeConsistent with the surcharge stated on the county's residential permit packet and applied county-wide to every Daggett County permit type; not separately restated on the electrical, mechanical or plumbing application, but no evidence it differs.

Roofing, Siding, Window, and Deck Permit

Verified

Required for roofing, siding, window replacement, and deck construction/alteration in unincorporated Daggett County, issued via a single combined application form. Incomplete applications will not be accepted.

Verified 2026-07-23 · Source

Requirements

  • Roof replacement or re-roofing
  • Siding replacement or installation
  • Window replacement
  • New deck construction or deck alterations
  • Detailed description of proposed improvement required on application

Required documents

  • RequiredRoofing, Siding, Window and Deck Building Permit ApplicationSingle combined county form; general contractor or 'SELF (IF RESIDENTIAL)' for owner-performed work
  • OptionalOwner/Builder Certification and Agreement to Comply with Construction Trades Licensing ActRequired for owner-performed work; filed with Utah DOPL

Fee schedule

Fee typeAmountNotes
Application DepositRequired, but no dollar figure published — the county's own Roofing, Siding, Window and Deck Building Permit Application states only 'Deposit amount paid at the time of application is nonrefundable but will be credited towards the final cost of the...', with no number filled in or printed anywhere on the form
Confirmed from the application's own text. Show full citation

Confirmed from the application's own text. County Code § 8-3-4.M ('Fees: Any fee charged for the issuance of building permits shall be based upon the current International Building Code as recommended therein'), codified on codelibrary.amlegal.com, is the governing legal provision — it confirms Daggett County's building-permit fee mechanism is legally pegged to IBC valuation tables rather than an independently published flat dollar figure, the same treatment as the residential and commercial building permit 'Final Permit Fee' lines. No separate, county-published roofing/siding/window/deck fee schedule exists; contact Planning & Zoning (435-784-3218 ext. 230) for a project-specific quote.

State Surcharge1% of permit feeThis surcharge is stated on the county's residential permit packet and applies county-wide to every Daggett County permit type. It is not restated on this application, so include it in your fee estimate and confirm the amount when you submit.

Accessory / Outbuilding Building Permit

Verified

Required for accessory structures and outbuildings over 200 square feet in unincorporated Daggett County. Structures 200 square feet or less are exempt per County Code § 8-6A-1A and IRC R105.2.

Verified 2026-07-08 · Source

Requirements

  • New accessory building, addition, remodel, or demolition of an accessory structure
  • Only required for structures over 200 square feet — smaller structures are exempt
  • Same contractor listing and plan requirements as the residential permit for attached/detached garage, finished space, etc.

Required documents

  • RequiredAccessory/Outbuilding Building Permit ApplicationCounty application form covering structure size/use, value, and contractor list

Fee schedule

Fee typeAmountNotes
Application Deposit — Accessory Structure$200 (nonrefundable at application; credited toward final plan-check/permit cost)Daggett County Residential Building Permit packet, 'FEES' section — same deposit schedule applies to accessory structures
State Surcharge1% of permit feeConsistent with county-wide surcharge stated on the residential permit packet

Demolition Permit

Verified

Required for demolition of any structure in unincorporated Daggett County. Requires sign-off from utility providers, Tri County Health, and fire department, plus State of Utah Division of Air Quality asbestos notification if performed by a hired contractor.

Verified 2026-07-23 · Source

Requirements

  • Complete or partial demolition of any structure
  • Utility disconnect confirmation from electric provider (Bridger Valley Electric or Moon Lake Electric), Town of Manila Water/Sewer, Manila/Dutch John Fire Dept, propane company, and Tri County Health
  • Asbestos inspection required if demolition is performed by a hired contractor (private homeowners performing their own demolition are exempt under Utah House Bill 285, but are still regulated by the county for asbestos determination)
  • Two-week advance notification to the Utah DEQ Division of Air Quality is required regardless of asbestos findings
  • Road Department and Sheriff's Office approval required if any public road will be blocked

Required documents

  • RequiredDemolition Permit ApplicationCounty application form requiring signatures/approvals from utility, fire, and health providers before the Building Official approves
  • RequiredState Air Quality Demolition NotificationUtah DEQ Division of Air Quality asbestos/demolition notification form, required two weeks prior to demolition (801-536-4000)
  • OptionalAsbestos InspectionRequired if demolition is performed by a hired contractor; private homeowners performing their own demolition are exempt per Utah House Bill 285

Fee schedule

Fee typeAmountNotes
Application Fee / DepositNone found — the Demolition Permit Application has no fee or deposit clause anywhere on the form. Every other Daggett County permit application (residential, commercial, electrical/mechanical/plumbing, roofing/siding/window/deck, accessory) states that a deposit is required even where the dollar amount is left blank, so confirm with the county before assuming demolition carries no charge.
County Code § 8-3-4.A explicitly includes demolition within the general building-permit statute, and § 8-3-4.M ('Any fee charged for the issuance of building permits shall be based upon the current… Show full citation

County Code § 8-3-4.A explicitly includes demolition within the general building-permit statute, and § 8-3-4.M ('Any fee charged for the issuance of building permits shall be based upon the current International Building Code as recommended therein', per the current code text on codelibrary.amlegal.com) establishes that any fee that IS charged for a Daggett County building permit is IBC-valuation-based rather than a flat county figure — but the demolition application itself requests no deposit at filing, a genuine distinction from the county's other permit forms. No published demolition-specific fee or deposit requirement exists in the county's own application materials; confirm with Planning & Zoning (435-784-3218 ext. 230) whether any fee is assessed administratively at permit issuance.

Commercial Tenant Improvement / Tenant Finish Permit

Unincorporated Daggett County does NOT publish a separate tenant-improvement/tenant-finish permit application, fee, or checklist. The county's own Commercial Building Permit Application is a single 'COMMERCIAL BUILDING PERMIT APPLICATION' form whose 'Type of Improvement' checkbox lists 'New Building, Addition, Remodel, Demo, Pre-Manufactured Building, Moving' as the options. File a tenant-improvement or tenant-finish project on that same application, checking 'Remodel' or 'Addition' as applicable; it is reviewed against the same Commercial Building Plans Checklist and subject to the same fee/deposit mechanism as new commercial construction. No Daggett-specific tenant-improvement or tenant-finish document, fee line, or process distinct from this general commercial application is published on daggettcounty.gov.

Reviewed 2026-08-02 · Source

Requirements

  • Tenant improvement / tenant finish work within an existing commercial building, filed by checking 'Remodel' (or 'Addition,' as applicable) under 'Type of Improvement' on the county's single Commercial Building Permit Application — Daggett County does not publish a separate tenant-improvement-specific application
  • Site plan meeting County Code § 8-2-3 definitions
  • Three 24x36 sets of building plans drawn to scale; at least one wet-stamped by a Utah-licensed architect and engineer
  • Plans must show type of construction (IBC 2015 Ch. 6), occupancy type (IBC 2015 Ch. 3), and occupant load (IBC 2015 § 1004) as cited in the county's own commercial plans checklist
  • Plans must be stamped by the Fire Chief (who retains one set) before the Building Official will issue the permit

Required documents

  • RequiredCommercial Building Permit ApplicationThe same county application form used for all commercial work (new construction, addition, remodel/tenant improvement, demolition, pre-manufactured, or moving) — check 'Remodel' or 'Addition' under 'Type of Improvement' for a tenant-improvement/tenant-finish project.
  • RequiredCommercial Building Plans Checklist PackageThree 24x36 sets of scaled plans including elevations, wall cross-sections, roof detail, and occupancy/occupant-load calculations per IBC 2015; one set wet-stamped by architect/engineer. The county's checklist states it 'is not all-inclusive and individual projects may require different information,' so a smaller interior-only tenant-finish scope may not require every line item (e.g., roof or footing details) that a ground-up shell building would.
  • RequiredFire Chief StampPlans must be reviewed and stamped by the Manila/Dutch John Fire Department Fire Chief before permit issuance
  • RequiredComplete List of ContractorsRequired before Certificate of Occupancy will be issued

Fee schedule

Fee typeAmountNotes
Application DepositNot separately published for commercial or tenant-improvement work (residential deposit schedule is $200 accessory / $600 dwelling; no commercial or TI-specific dollar figure is stated on the public application form)
The Daggett County Commercial Building Permit application confirms a nonrefundable deposit is required and credited to the final plan-check total, but does not state the dollar figure for any… Show full citation

The Daggett County Commercial Building Permit application confirms a nonrefundable deposit is required and credited to the final plan-check total, but does not state the dollar figure for any commercial sub-type including tenant improvement — contact Planning & Zoning (435-784-3218 ext. 230) to confirm. County Code § 8-3-4.M (codelibrary.amlegal.com) confirms the FINAL fee is legally IBC-valuation-based rather than a flat figure, but is silent on deposit amounts. A Board-of-County-Commissioners fee-schedule resolution is the mechanism that would set such a figure (confirmed to exist for PUD/subdivision fees per County Code § 8-7-10), but no applicable resolution appears among the 45 documents in the county's '2018-2019 Ordinances & Resolutions' index (daggettcounty.gov/515) — most of those documents are scanned images, and the one readable resolution is an unrelated Dutch John utility-rate resolution. No commercial/TI deposit dollar figure is published; this fee remains partial.

State Surcharge1% of permit feeConsistent with the surcharge stated on the county's residential permit packet; the commercial application does not separately restate this but no evidence it differs for tenant-improvement work

EV Charger / EVSE Permit

Verified

Daggett County publishes no distinct EV charger / EVSE permit or fee. A home or commercial EV charger installation (new circuit) is electrical work and is covered under the county's combined Electrical, Mechanical, and Plumbing Permit — check the 'Electrical' box on that single application form — but the county publishes no fee schedule for this permit at all, and does not name EV chargers, EVSE, or charging stations anywhere in its permit materials.

Verified 2026-07-23 · Source

Requirements

  • Installation of a Level 2 or DC fast EV charger (EVSE) at a residential, commercial, or agricultural property in unincorporated Daggett County
  • New dedicated 240V circuit and/or panel capacity to serve the charger, checked as 'Electrical' scope on the combined permit application
  • Residential work may be self-performed by the owner ('SELF (IF RESIDENTIAL)' option); commercial/agricultural work requires a licensed contractor

Required documents

  • RequiredElectrical, Mechanical and Plumbing Building Permit ApplicationSingle combined county form; check the 'Electrical' box and describe the EV charger circuit installation.
  • OptionalOwner/Builder Certification and Agreement to Comply with Construction Trades Licensing ActRequired for owner-performed work; filed with Utah DOPL.

Fee schedule

Fee typeAmountNotes
Application Deposit (via combined Electrical, Mechanical, and Plumbing Permit)Required, but no dollar figure published — the county's Electrical, Mechanical and Plumbing Building Permit Application (the form used for an EV charger circuit) states only 'Deposit amount paid at the time of application is nonrefundable but will be credited towards the final [cost]', with no number filled in or printed
Confirmed against the application itself. Show full citation

Confirmed against the application itself. County Code § 8-3-4.M ('Any fee charged for the issuance of building permits shall be based upon the current International Building Code as recommended therein'), published at codelibrary.amlegal.com, confirms Daggett County's building-permit fee mechanism is legally IBC-valuation-based rather than an independently published flat dollar figure. The county publishes no EV-specific or general electrical/mechanical/plumbing fee schedule; contact Planning & Zoning (435-784-3218 ext. 230) for a project-specific quote.

Solar / Solar PV Permit

Verified

Daggett County publishes no distinct solar or solar-PV permit application, checklist, or fee. Solar electricity systems are instead governed as a zoning/accessory-use classification under County Code Title 8, Chapter 14 (Solar Electricity Systems, §§ 8-14-1 through 8-14-5): structurally attached (roof-mount) solar panels are a permitted accessory use in all zones subject to height limits, while freestanding (ground-mount) solar panels are treated as an accessory building. The construction/electrical work itself is then processed through the county's existing general permits — the Accessory/Outbuilding Building Permit for a ground-mount array's support structure, and the combined Electrical, Mechanical, and Plumbing Permit for the PV circuit/inverter/interconnection — not a standalone solar permit.

Verified 2026-07-23 · Source

Requirements

  • Structurally attached (roof-mount) PV panels: a permitted accessory use in all zones per County Code § 8-14-5, subject to the requirements for such together with all other applicable building codes and ordinances; on a sloped roof the array shall not project vertically above the peak of the roof, and on a flat roof shall not project vertically more than five feet (5') above the roof
  • Freestanding (ground-mount) PV arrays: considered an accessory building per County Code § 8-14-4 and subject to the same requirements as an accessory structure — a building permit (Accessory/Outbuilding Building Permit) is required if the mount/structure exceeds 200 square feet; structures of 200 sq ft or less are exempt per County Code § 8-6A-1A / IRC R105.2
  • PV electrical interconnection (new circuit, inverter, panel tie-in, battery storage wiring) is electrical work filed under the county's combined Electrical, Mechanical, and Plumbing Permit application — check the 'Electrical' box
  • New residential or commercial construction that incorporates rooftop solar as part of the original build is reviewed within that project's Residential or Commercial Building Permit plan set rather than as a separate solar filing
  • Residential work may be self-performed by the owner ('SELF (IF RESIDENTIAL)' option on the electrical application); commercial/agricultural work requires a licensed contractor

Required documents

  • RequiredElectrical, Mechanical and Plumbing Building Permit ApplicationSingle combined county form used for the PV electrical interconnection (new circuit/inverter/tie-in) — check the 'Electrical' box and describe the solar installation.
  • OptionalAccessory/Outbuilding Building Permit ApplicationRequired only if a freestanding/ground-mount solar array's support structure exceeds 200 square feet, per County Code § 8-14-4 (freestanding solar panels are considered an accessory building) and § 8-6A-1A (200 sq ft accessory exemption).
  • OptionalOwner/Builder Certification and Agreement to Comply with Construction Trades Licensing ActRequired for owner-performed work; filed with Utah DOPL.

Fee schedule

Fee typeAmountNotes
Application Deposit — Accessory Structure (ground-mount array over 200 sq ft only)$200 (nonrefundable at application; credited toward final plan-check/permit cost)
Same accessory-structure deposit schedule published in the Daggett County Residential Building Permit packet's 'FEES' section; Show full citation

Same accessory-structure deposit schedule published in the Daggett County Residential Building Permit packet's 'FEES' section; applies only if the ground-mount racking/support structure exceeds 200 sq ft and requires an Accessory/Outbuilding Building Permit per County Code § 8-14-4.

State Surcharge1% of permit feeCounty-wide surcharge stated on the residential permit packet; applies to any permit fee assessed, including an accessory-structure permit for a ground-mount array.
Electrical, Mechanical, and Plumbing Permit Fee (PV interconnection scope)No flat dollar figure published. County Code § 8-3-4.M (Building Permits — Fees) states: 'Any fee charged for the issuance of building permits shall be based upon the current International Building Code as recommended therein' — i.e., the legally controlling fee mechanism is an ICC/IBC valuation-based schedule, not an independently published county dollar amount.
The county's combined Electrical, Mechanical and Plumbing Building Permit Application PDF carries no dollar figure anywhere on the form — its text (owner/applicant fields, contractor fields, the… Show full citation

The county's combined Electrical, Mechanical and Plumbing Building Permit Application PDF carries no dollar figure anywhere on the form — its text (owner/applicant fields, contractor fields, the 5-point acknowledgment, the DOPL Owner/Builder Certification page) includes no printed rate table and no 'Deposit Amount: $___' line, only 'Deposit amount paid at the time of application is nonrefundable' with no number filled in or printed. The county's Applications index (daggettcounty.gov/496/Applications) lists no separate fee-schedule/rate document among its ~20 forms. The only fee-schedule documents Daggett County publishes at all are two County Recorder's-office schedules (Property Records Fee Schedule; Recording Fees Effective 05/14/2019), both unrelated to building/electrical/mechanical/plumbing permits, and no source beyond the $200/$600 deposit figures documented here publishes any permit dollar amount. County Code § 8-3-4.M (codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/daggettcout/latest/daggettco_ut/0-0-0-2337) is the actual legal fee provision and explains why no flat number is published — the ordinance itself defers to the IBC's own recommended fee schedule rather than setting a county dollar figure. The same treatment applies to the sibling electrical-mechanical-plumbing-permit and ev-charger-permit entries, and matches the residential-building-permit entry's valuation-based 'Final Permit Fee' line. No independently published flat dollar figure exists for this fee by design (IBC-valuation mechanism), not because it is undiscovered.

Sign Permit

Unincorporated Daggett County publishes no distinct sign-permit application, checklist, or fee. Signs are regulated as a permitted, conditional, or accessory use directly within the zoning-district use tables of County Code Title 8, Chapter 6 (Zoning Districts). A new or replacement sign is reviewed for zoning-table compliance as part of whatever permit governs the underlying property — the Commercial Building Permit's plan review for signage tied to new commercial construction, or an informal Planning & Zoning zoning-compliance check for a freestanding or accessory sign added to an existing building. A sign exceeding the base zoning-table allowance (a taller 'pole sign' or an off-premise advertising sign) requires Planning Commission approval, which the county processes through its published Conditional Use Permit Application rather than a sign-specific form.

Reviewed 2026-07-23 · Source

Requirements

  • Business signs in commercial-type zoning districts (CN, CS, CH, CG, MD, MG per County Code § 8-6, Chapter 6 use tables): limited to 1 square foot of sign area per 1 linear foot of business building frontage, no single sign to exceed 50 square feet, and no more than 3 signs per business; signs must be flat wall or freestanding only, never revolving, flashing, or intermittently lit
  • 'Pole signs' up to 25 feet in height and 100 square feet in total area are allowed above the base business-sign allowance only with Planning Commission approval
  • Off-premise advertising signs up to 132 square feet in area and 25 feet in height may be allowed by the Planning Commission as a conditional use
  • Nonadvertising signs (civic max 14 sq ft, development max 40 sq ft, real estate max 16 sq ft, residential nameplate max 2 sq ft) are permitted outright in most districts, limited to 3 such signs per property, may not project above the eaves or parapet wall of the building, and may be lighted but never flashing, revolving, or with lighted moving parts
  • A sign erected as part of new commercial construction is reviewed for zoning-table compliance within that project's Commercial Building Permit plan set rather than as a separate sign filing

Required documents

  • OptionalCommercial Building Permit ApplicationFor signage installed as part of new commercial construction, addition, or remodel — the same application used for the underlying building project; the plan review confirms the sign meets the zoning-table area/height/count limits for the district.
  • OptionalConditional Use Permit ApplicationRequired only for a sign exceeding the base zoning-table allowance — a 'pole sign' (up to 25 ft / 100 sq ft) or an off-premise advertising sign (up to 132 sq ft / 25 ft) — which County Code requires the Planning Commission to approve.

Fee schedule

Fee typeAmountNotes
Permitted-Outright Signs (business, civic, real estate, development, residential nameplate signs within base zoning-table limits)$0 / no permit or fee required
Verified-negative: these sign categories are reviewed only against the zoning-district use table (County Code Title 8, Chapter 6) and are not run through any application, checklist, or fee process at… Show full citation

Verified-negative: these sign categories are reviewed only against the zoning-district use table (County Code Title 8, Chapter 6) and are not run through any application, checklist, or fee process at all — that no distinct sign-permit application exists among the county's ~25 published permit forms.

Conditional Use Permit Fee (pole signs / off-premise advertising signs only)No flat dollar figure published — the county's Conditional Use Permit Application has a blank 'Fee ___________' field in its 'OFFICE USE ONLY' block, filled in by staff at the time of filing rather than set by a published schedule
The county's Conditional Use Permit Application carries no pre-printed amount: its office-use line reads 'CUP# _______ Fee ___________ Receipt# _______', with the fee filled in by staff. Show full citation

The county's Conditional Use Permit Application carries no pre-printed amount: its office-use line reads 'CUP# _______ Fee ___________ Receipt# _______', with the fee filled in by staff. That is consistent with County Code § 8-3-4.M's building-permit fee mechanism, which defers to a valuation/case-by-case basis rather than a flat published number for other Daggett County permit types. Contact Planning & Zoning (435-784-3218 ext. 230) to confirm the current CUP fee before applying for an oversized/pole/off-premise sign.

Fire Sprinkler / Fire Alarm Permit

Unincorporated Daggett County does not publish a distinct fire-sprinkler or fire-alarm permit, application, checklist, or fee of its own. For ordinary commercial construction, fire protection is reviewed as part of the general Commercial Building Permit: the county's Commercial Building Plans Checklist requires 'Fire separation, fire wall, fire barrier or any fire resistant construction detail' and 'Smoke detectors and/or fire alarm locations' to be shown on the submitted plans, and the plans must be stamped by the county Fire Chief (Dutch John Fire Department, or the Manila/Flaming Gorge Fire and EMS District, depending on location) before the Building Official issues the permit — per the county's Commercial Building Permit Application. Separately, for the narrower set of building types under the Utah State Fire Prevention Board's jurisdiction per Utah Admin. Code R710-4 — publicly owned buildings; public/private schools, colleges, and universities; hospitals, assisted-living facilities, day cares, and similar institutional occupancies; and any place of assemblage where 50 or more persons gather — the Utah State Fire Marshal's Office runs a separate statewide plan-review submittal (Automatic Fire Sprinkler Plan Submittal Form and Fire Alarm Plan Review Submittal Form, $0.022 per square foot reviewed, $75 minimum fee, submitted to planreviews@utah.gov). That applies whether or not the county has its own Fire Marshal capacity. Whether a specific Daggett County project — a rural church hall, community center, or assisted-living use, for example — crosses the 50-person/institutional threshold that triggers state-level review is a project-specific determination no published county document resolves. Ask the county and the State Fire Marshal's Office before you assume either way.

Reviewed 2026-07-23 · Source

Requirements

  • Ordinary commercial fire-sprinkler and fire-alarm work: reviewed within the general Commercial Building Permit — plans must show fire separation/fire-resistant construction detail and smoke detector/fire alarm locations, and must be stamped by the county Fire Chief before the Building Official issues the permit
  • No separate sprinkler-system fee line, contractor-license requirement, or standalone application is published by the county for this scope
  • Buildings under Utah State Fire Prevention Board jurisdiction (Utah Admin. Code R710-4): publicly owned buildings; public or private schools, colleges, or universities; hospitals, mental hospitals, sanitariums, homes for the aged, assisted living facilities, children's homes, or day care centers; and any place of assemblage where 50 or more persons may gather for amusement, entertainment, instruction, or education
  • For R710-4 buildings, sprinkler and alarm plans are submitted directly to the Utah State Fire Marshal's Office (not to Daggett County) via the statewide Automatic Fire Sprinkler Plan Submittal Form and/or Fire Alarm Plan Review Submittal Form, with water-supply analysis (static/residual pressure, flow), hydraulic calculations, and (for alarm systems) device locations, power connection, battery calculations, and voltage-drop calculations

Required documents

  • RequiredCommercial Building Permit ApplicationThe county's single commercial application and plans checklist, which is where ordinary fire-sprinkler/fire-alarm scope is reviewed (fire separation detail and smoke detector/fire alarm locations shown on plans, Fire Chief stamp required).
  • OptionalAutomatic Fire Sprinkler Plan Submittal Form (Utah State Fire Marshal's Office)State form required only for buildings under State Fire Prevention Board jurisdiction per Utah Admin. Code R710-4 (publicly owned buildings, schools, institutional occupancies, assembly occupancies of 50+ persons); requires water-supply analysis, hydraulic calculations, and seismic calculations; fee is $0.022 per square foot reviewed, $75 minimum.
  • OptionalFire Alarm Plan Review Submittal Form (Utah State Fire Marshal's Office)State form required only for buildings under State Fire Prevention Board jurisdiction per Utah Admin. Code R710-4; requires floor plan, occupancy type, alarm device locations, power connection, and battery/voltage-drop calculations; fee is $0.022 per square foot reviewed, $75 minimum.

Fee schedule

Fee typeAmountNotes
Utah State Fire Marshal Plan Review Fee (R710-4 buildings only)$0.022 per square foot of scope submitted for review; $75 minimum fee
Set by the Utah State Fire Marshal's Office 'Automatic Fire Sprinkler Plan Submittal Form' and 'Fire Alarm Plan Review Submittal Form,' authorized under Utah Code § 53-7-204 / Utah Admin. Show full citation

Set by the Utah State Fire Marshal's Office 'Automatic Fire Sprinkler Plan Submittal Form' and 'Fire Alarm Plan Review Submittal Form,' authorized under Utah Code § 53-7-204 / Utah Admin. Code R710-4. This fee applies ONLY to buildings under State Fire Prevention Board jurisdiction (publicly owned buildings, schools/colleges/universities, hospitals/institutional occupancies, assembly occupancies of 50+ persons) — it is not a general fee for an ordinary private commercial building in Daggett County, which instead has no separately published fire-sprinkler/alarm fee at all under the county's own Commercial Building Permit.

Ordinary Commercial Fire-Sprinkler/Alarm Review (non-R710-4 buildings)No separate fee — folded into the general Commercial Building Permit fee
The Commercial Building Permit Application/Plans Checklist contains no standalone sprinkler/alarm fee line, and County Code § 8-3-4.M (codelibrary.amlegal.com) makes Daggett County building-permit… Show full citation

The Commercial Building Permit Application/Plans Checklist contains no standalone sprinkler/alarm fee line, and County Code § 8-3-4.M (codelibrary.amlegal.com) makes Daggett County building-permit fees IBC-valuation-based county-wide rather than itemized by inspection scope — so no distinct fire-sprinkler/alarm charge exists for ordinary private commercial construction outside State Fire Prevention Board jurisdiction. R710-4 buildings remain subject to the separately-documented Utah State Fire Marshal fee above.

Change of Use / Occupancy Permit

Daggett County publishes no standalone 'change of use' or 'certificate of occupancy' application among its roughly 25 permit forms. County Code § 8-9-23 (Occupancy Permits, Chapter 9 — Supplementary and Qualifying Regulations) instead sets a county-wide occupancy permit requirement: land, buildings, and premises in any zone may be used only for the purposes permitted in that zone, and the Building Inspector must inspect the premises and determine the use meets zoning requirements before issuing the permit. Critically, 'such a permit shall also be required whenever the character or use of any building or land is proposed to be changed from one use to another use' — whether or not construction is involved. For new construction that step is already folded into the Residential and Commercial Building Permit process (both require a complete contractor list before a Certificate of Occupancy issues, and County Code § 8-7-8.D separately requires a Certificate of Occupancy for Planned Unit Developments on completion). This entry covers the freestanding case — a pure change of use in an existing building with no construction — for which the County publishes no application form, checklist, or fee. Contact the County to confirm what it will require and charge.

Reviewed 2026-07-22 · Source

Requirements

  • Any change in 'the character or use of any building or land... from one use to another use' per County Code § 8-9-23, whether or not new construction is involved
  • New construction: an occupancy permit/Certificate of Occupancy is required upon completion, issued after the Building Inspector confirms the completed structure meets zoning and (for Planned Unit Developments specifically) the approved development plan per County Code § 8-7-8.D
  • Existing building/premises: the property owner may submit a written request for an occupancy permit covering any lawful use existing on the ordinance's effective date, including a nonconforming use, per County Code § 8-9-23
  • A change from one NONCONFORMING use to another nonconforming use is further restricted under County Code § 8-10-8: it is treated as a conditional use requiring Planning Commission review, and the new use may not be more intensive than the most recent existing legal nonconforming use
  • The Building Inspector must inspect the premises and determine it meets applicable zoning-district requirements before issuing the occupancy permit

Required documents

  • OptionalWritten Request for Occupancy PermitNot a standardized county form — County Code § 8-9-23 allows a property owner to request, in writing, an occupancy permit covering an existing lawful use (including a nonconforming use); submitted to Daggett County Planning & Zoning to initiate the required Building Inspector review. No county-published template was found.
  • OptionalComplete List of ContractorsRequired before a Certificate of Occupancy is issued for new construction, and already a prerequisite of Daggett County's Residential and Commercial Building Permit applications. It applies here when the use change happens as part of new construction rather than inside an existing building.
  • OptionalConditional Use Permit ApplicationRequired only when the requested change is from one nonconforming use to another nonconforming use, per County Code § 8-10-8(C), which subjects that specific scenario to Planning Commission conditional-use review.

Fee schedule

Fee typeAmountNotes

Sources & verification

Key facts verified against official sources. Last reviewed 2026-07-08.

Fees, timelines, and adopted codes are researched from each jurisdiction's published records — see how we verify. Requirements change and vary by project, so always confirm the current details with the Unincorporated Daggett County building department before you submit. PermitBase is an independent reference and is not affiliated with any government agency.

← Earlier version (2026-08-02)View current record →All versions →

Permalink: /utah/daggett-county/unincorporated-daggett/as-of/2026-08-25/

Snapshot date: 2026-08-25

Commit: 4e9b2b0

Reproducible from PermitBase’s version-controlled dataset, commit 4e9b2b0.