Skip to main content
PermitBase

You are viewing the permanent link for the record currently in effect, published 2026-09-16.

Richland building permits

Richland, Washington — as published 2026-09-16.

Reviewed 2026-09-16 · Source

Codes adopted

RICHLAND ADOPTS WHATEVER THE STATE ADOPTS, WITHOUT NAMING A SINGLE CODE. RMC 21.01.010: "All building and building-related codes as currently adopted, or as shall be adopted in future enactments by the state of Washington pursuant to RCW 19.27.031, together with all amendments as currently enacted, or as shall be enacted by the state of Washington, are hereby adopted as, and are herein referred to as, the building codes for the city of Richland". The operative sentence names no code and no year - it delegates to the state statute.THE LIST THAT FOLLOWS TAKES THE LATEST EDITIONS. The city "shall adopt the following building codes consisting of the latest published editions of the following, as amended by the Washington State Building Code Council (SBCC)": the International Building Code including Appendix J; ICC/ANSI A117.1-09; the International Existing Building Code; the International Residential Code; the International Swimming Pool and Spa Code; the International Mechanical Code; NFPA 58 for LP gas; NFPA 54 for LP gas installations; the International Fuel Gas Code; the International Fire Code "except as amended by RMC Title 20"; the Uniform Plumbing Code; and the Washington State Energy Code.ONE STANDARD IS PINNED WHILE THE REST ROLL. Item B is "ICC/ANSI A117.1-09, Accessible and Usable Buildings and Facilities, with statewide amendments (adopted as part of the IBC)." The accessibility standard carries a fixed 09 edition designator inside an adoption that otherwise follows the latest published edition. Sammamish pins the same standard at 2017.ADDITIONS AND DELETIONS LIVE IN TWO PLACES. The adoption is subject to "all additions, deletions, and amendments as set forth in this title and in RMC Title 20" - so Title 20 Life Safety is part of the answer and is NOT covered by this entry.RCW 19.27 - the Washington State Building Code applies statewide.

Permit types & fees

Building Permit

Required for construction in Richland. The city adopts whatever the state adopts under RCW 19.27.031, prices permits from a 1997 table, and ties permanent utilities to the certificate of occupancy.

Reviewed 2026-09-16 · Source

Requirements

  • Built to the codes the state of Washington adopts under RCW 19.27.031, latest published editions as amended by the State Building Code Council
  • Additions and deletions are in RMC Title 21 AND RMC Title 20
  • All contractors and subcontractors must hold a City of Richland business licence
  • Cedar shakes and shingles are prohibited on new construction
  • No permanent utility service until a certificate of occupancy issues

Required documents

  • RequiredBuilding permit application with declared valuationThe declared valuation must cover all construction work plus finish work, painting, roofing, electrical, plumbing, heating, air conditioning, elevators, fire-extinguishing systems and any other permanent equipment.
  • RequiredContractor and subcontractor business licencesAll contractors and sub-contractors must hold a valid and current City of Richland business licence under RMC Title 5.

Fee schedule

Fee typeAmountNotes
Building permit fee (1997 UBC Table 1-A)1997 UBC Table 1-A, greater-of rule
RICHLAND'S BUILDING PERMIT FEE COMES OUT OF A 1997 CODE, AND THIS ENTRY DOES NOT STATE A DOLLAR FIGURE FOR IT. Show full citation

RICHLAND'S BUILDING PERMIT FEE COMES OUT OF A 1997 CODE, AND THIS ENTRY DOES NOT STATE A DOLLAR FIGURE FOR IT. RMC 21.01.020: "Fees for building permits and related inspections shall be as set forth in Table 1-A from the 1997 Uniform Building Code as previously published by the International Code Council, Inc." That table is not reproduced in the municipal code, so no amount is quoted here rather than invented - ask the city for the current schedule. THE PART YOU CAN ACT ON IS THE VALUATION RULE: the fee is computed on "the greater of either the valuation noted in Supplemental Table 1-B or the declared valuation of construction from the applicant for the permit", so declaring a low valuation does not lower the fee. The declared valuation must include "the total value of all construction work for which the permit is issued, as well as all finish work, painting, roofing, electrical, plumbing, heating, air conditioning, elevators, fire-extinguishing systems, and any other permanent equipment." Valuations absent from Supplemental Table 1-B fall back to the "Building Valuation Data" published in the Building Safety Journal, or to the building official's determination. SEPARATELY, THE NREC FEE IS PUBLISHED IN FULL IN THE CODE and is reproduced in feeSchedule - it runs from $100 up to a $1,550 maximum.

Verify a Contractor Licence

Washington contractors register with the Department of Labor & Industries - AND Richland separately requires a city business licence for contractors and subcontractors.

Reviewed 2026-09-16 · Source

Requirements

  • Check contractor registration with Washington State Labor & Industries
  • Confirm the contractor holds a current City of Richland business licence under RMC Title 5
  • Subcontractors need the city licence too

Required documents

  • RequiredCity of Richland business licenceRequired of all contractors and subcontractors under RMC Title 5.

Fee schedule

Fee typeAmountNotes
Building permit fee (1997 UBC Table 1-A)1997 UBC Table 1-A, greater-of rule
RICHLAND'S BUILDING PERMIT FEE COMES OUT OF A 1997 CODE, AND THIS ENTRY DOES NOT STATE A DOLLAR FIGURE FOR IT. Show full citation

RICHLAND'S BUILDING PERMIT FEE COMES OUT OF A 1997 CODE, AND THIS ENTRY DOES NOT STATE A DOLLAR FIGURE FOR IT. RMC 21.01.020: "Fees for building permits and related inspections shall be as set forth in Table 1-A from the 1997 Uniform Building Code as previously published by the International Code Council, Inc." That table is not reproduced in the municipal code, so no amount is quoted here rather than invented - ask the city for the current schedule. THE PART YOU CAN ACT ON IS THE VALUATION RULE: the fee is computed on "the greater of either the valuation noted in Supplemental Table 1-B or the declared valuation of construction from the applicant for the permit", so declaring a low valuation does not lower the fee. The declared valuation must include "the total value of all construction work for which the permit is issued, as well as all finish work, painting, roofing, electrical, plumbing, heating, air conditioning, elevators, fire-extinguishing systems, and any other permanent equipment." Valuations absent from Supplemental Table 1-B fall back to the "Building Valuation Data" published in the Building Safety Journal, or to the building official's determination. SEPARATELY, THE NREC FEE IS PUBLISHED IN FULL IN THE CODE and is reproduced in feeSchedule - it runs from $100 up to a $1,550 maximum.

Sources & verification

Key facts verified against official sources. Last reviewed 2026-09-16.

Fees, timelines, and adopted codes are researched from each jurisdiction's published records — see how we verify. Requirements change and vary by project, so always confirm the current details with the Richland building department before you submit. PermitBase is an independent reference and is not affiliated with any government agency.

View current record →All versions →

Permalink: /washington/benton-county/richland/as-of/2026-09-16/

Snapshot date: 2026-09-16

Commit: 6cf9cee

Reproducible from PermitBase’s version-controlled dataset, commit 6cf9cee.