Skip to main content
PermitBase

Verify a Contractor Licence in Richland, Washington

Washington contractors register with the Department of Labor & Industries - AND Richland separately requires a city business licence for contractors and subcontractors.

Reviewed 2026-09-16 · Source

When you need this permit

  • Check contractor registration with Washington State Labor & Industries Contractor
  • Confirm the contractor holds a current City of Richland business licence under RMC Title 5
  • Subcontractors need the city licence too

Required documents

Check off what you have — your progress is saved on this device.

Not ready yet0 of 1 required documents checked.

This checker covers one permit. A full project usually triggers several — our checklist will assemble all of them, free →

Fee schedule

Building permit fee (1997 UBC Table 1-A)
RICHLAND'S BUILDING PERMIT FEE COMES OUT OF A 1997 CODE, AND THIS ENTRY DOES NOT STATE A DOLLAR FIGURE FOR IT. Show full citationRICHLAND'S BUILDING PERMIT FEE COMES OUT OF A 1997 CODE, AND THIS ENTRY DOES NOT STATE A DOLLAR FIGURE FOR IT. RMC 21.01.020: "Fees for building permits and related inspections shall be as set forth in Table 1-A from the 1997 Uniform Building Code as previously published by the International Code Council, Inc." That table is not reproduced in the municipal code, so no amount is quoted here rather than invented - ask the city for the current schedule. THE PART YOU CAN ACT ON IS THE VALUATION RULE: the fee is computed on "the greater of either the valuation noted in Supplemental Table 1-B or the declared valuation of construction from the applicant for the permit", so declaring a low valuation does not lower the fee. The declared valuation must include "the total value of all construction work for which the permit is issued, as well as all finish work, painting, roofing, electrical, plumbing, heating, air conditioning, elevators, fire-extinguishing systems, and any other permanent equipment." Valuations absent from Supplemental Table 1-B fall back to the "Building Valuation Data" published in the Building Safety Journal, or to the building official's determination. SEPARATELY, THE NREC FEE IS PUBLISHED IN FULL IN THE CODE and is reproduced in feeSchedule - it runs from $100 up to a $1,550 maximum.
1997 UBC Table 1-A, greater-of rule

Review timeline

Plan review
Not published — contact the department

How long did your Verify a Contractor Licence permit actually take in Richland?

Anonymous — one question, no email. Answers are combined and only shown once at least 5 people have reported.

Inspection process

    Tips

    • Richland is one of the few cities in this set to require a CITY licence of every contractor and subcontractor on top of state registration
    • State registration and the city business licence are two different checks

    Frequently asked questions

    Richland requires a verify a contractor licence permit for: Check contractor registration with Washington State Labor & Industries; Confirm the contractor holds a current City of Richland business licence under RMC Title 5; Subcontractors need the city licence too. If your project isn't listed, confirm with City of Richland at (509) 942-7390 before starting work.

    In Richland, the published Building permit fee (1997 UBC Table 1-A) is: 1997 UBC Table 1-A, greater-of rule. These are the jurisdiction's own published figures — see the fee schedule table and source citations on this page.

    Richland does not publish a plan-review timeline for this permit. Contact City of Richland at (509) 942-7390 for current turnaround.

    You'll need: City of Richland business licence. See the required-documents checklist on this page for details on each.

    Apply through City of Richland at 625 Swift Blvd, Richland, WA 99352. Phone: (509) 942-7390. Official information: https://www.ci.richland.wa.us/.

    Richland, Washington has adopted: RICHLAND ADOPTS WHATEVER THE STATE ADOPTS, WITHOUT NAMING A SINGLE CODE. RMC 21.01.010: "All building and building-related codes as currently adopted, or as shall be adopted in future enactments by the state of Washington pursuant to RCW 19.27.031, together with all amendments as currently enacted, or as shall be enacted by the state of Washington, are hereby adopted as, and are herein referred to as, the building codes for the city of Richland". The operative sentence names no code and no year - it delegates to the state statute.; THE LIST THAT FOLLOWS TAKES THE LATEST EDITIONS. The city "shall adopt the following building codes consisting of the latest published editions of the following, as amended by the Washington State Building Code Council (SBCC)": the International Building Code including Appendix J; ICC/ANSI A117.1-09; the International Existing Building Code; the International Residential Code; the International Swimming Pool and Spa Code; the International Mechanical Code; NFPA 58 for LP gas; NFPA 54 for LP gas installations; the International Fuel Gas Code; the International Fire Code "except as amended by RMC Title 20"; the Uniform Plumbing Code; and the Washington State Energy Code.; ONE STANDARD IS PINNED WHILE THE REST ROLL. Item B is "ICC/ANSI A117.1-09, Accessible and Usable Buildings and Facilities, with statewide amendments (adopted as part of the IBC)." The accessibility standard carries a fixed 09 edition designator inside an adoption that otherwise follows the latest published edition. Sammamish pins the same standard at 2017.; ADDITIONS AND DELETIONS LIVE IN TWO PLACES. The adoption is subject to "all additions, deletions, and amendments as set forth in this title and in RMC Title 20" - so Title 20 Life Safety is part of the answer and is NOT covered by this entry.; RCW 19.27 - the Washington State Building Code applies statewide.. Local amendments apply — see the Richland overview page for the full list.

    Yes. Washington contractor registration is a state record held by Labor & Industries, and separately RMC 21.01.020 provides that "All contractors and sub-contractors shall have a valid and current business license to conduct business within the City of Richland pursuant to Title 5" of the municipal code. The city requirement reaches subcontractors, not just the general.

    Sources & verification

    Key facts verified against official sources. Last reviewed 2026-09-16.

    Fees, timelines, and adopted codes are researched from each jurisdiction's published records — see how we verify. Requirements change and vary by project, so always confirm the current details with the Richland building department before you submit. PermitBase is an independent reference and is not affiliated with any government agency.

    Richland's permit history isn't searchable here yet

    This page covers what the permit requires. What we don't have for Richland yet is the record of permits actually issued — the history you'd search by street address. That is a gap in our coverage, not a statement about any particular property.

    Your email, and the place — never an address. We only use it to tell you when Richland lands. Privacy.

    Other permits in Richland

    Compare verify a contractor licence fees across Washington

    Look up this fee in a different city →

    Embed this data card →

    Now live

    Build your Richland project checklist

    Describe your project once and get every permit, document, and fee it triggers in Richland — in one checklist. Free, for any city and any number of projects.

    Get started →