Skip to main content
PermitBase

You are viewing the permanent link for the record currently in effect, published 2026-09-16.

Bothell building permits

Bothell, Washington — as published 2026-09-16.

Reviewed 2026-09-16 · Source

Codes adopted

THE 2021 IBC, NAMED, WITH CHAPTER 1 OUT. BMC 20.04.015: "The 2021 Edition of the International Building Code, as adopted by the State Building Code Council in Chapter 51-50 WAC, as published by the International Code Council, excluding Chapter 1, is adopted."THE 2021 IRC, WITH A LONGER EXCLUSION LIST. BMC 20.04.080: "The 2021 Edition of the International Residential Code, as adopted by the State Building Code Council in Chapter 51-51 WAC, as published by the International Code Council, excluding Chapters 1, 11 and 25 through 43, is adopted."THREE RESIDENTIAL APPENDICES, UNDER A LETTER SCHEME OTHER CITIES DO NOT USE. "Appendix AWF, Radon Control Methods, Appendix AWQ, Tiny Homes, and Appendix AWU, Dwelling Unit Fire Sprinkler Systems, are incl[uded]". Lakewood calls the same three F, Q and U; Camas writes "IRC Appendix AH" where Shoreline writes "Appendix H". THIS ENTRY DOES NOT ADJUDICATE which scheme is canonical - each city's letters are quoted as that city prints them.ADMINISTRATION IS THE CITY'S OWN. Chapter 1 is excluded from both codes, so permits, inspections and fees come from BMC Chapter 20.02, the Construction Administrative Code.RCW 19.27 - the Washington State Building Code applies statewide.

Permit types & fees

Building Permit

Required for construction in Bothell. The city adopts the 2021 IBC and IRC with Chapter 1 excluded, and runs administration through its own Construction Administrative Code.

Reviewed 2026-09-16 · Source

Requirements

  • Built to the 2021 IBC and 2021 IRC as adopted by the State Building Code Council
  • IBC Chapter 1 and IRC Chapters 1, 11 and 25 through 43 are NOT adopted
  • IRC Appendices AWF (Radon), AWQ (Tiny Homes) and AWU (Dwelling Unit Fire Sprinklers) are included
  • Design snow loads shall not be less than 25 psf
  • Permits, inspections and fees come from BMC Chapter 20.02

Required documents

  • RequiredPermit application and plansAdministered under BMC Chapter 20.02, the Construction Administrative Code, which stands in place of the model codes' Chapter 1.

Fee schedule

Fee typeAmountNotes
Permit fee (set in the Construction Administrative Code)Not stated in this guide - see notes
NO FEE AMOUNT IS STATED IN THIS ENTRY. Bothell excludes Chapter 1 from both the IBC and the IRC, which means permits, inspections and fees are governed by BMC Chapter 20.02, the Construction… Show full citation

NO FEE AMOUNT IS STATED IN THIS ENTRY. Bothell excludes Chapter 1 from both the IBC and the IRC, which means permits, inspections and fees are governed by BMC Chapter 20.02, the Construction Administrative Code - and that chapter was NOT opened for this entry. A figure is declined rather than invented, and the reader is pointed at the chapter that holds it.

Verify a Contractor Licence

Washington contractors register with the Department of Labor & Industries. Registration is a STATE record; Bothell does not issue it.

Reviewed 2026-09-16 · Source

Requirements

  • Check contractor registration with Washington State Labor & Industries

Required documents

  • OptionalNo city document requiredNo city document - check the state register.

Fee schedule

Fee typeAmountNotes
Permit fee (set in the Construction Administrative Code)Not stated in this guide - see notes
NO FEE AMOUNT IS STATED IN THIS ENTRY. Bothell excludes Chapter 1 from both the IBC and the IRC, which means permits, inspections and fees are governed by BMC Chapter 20.02, the Construction… Show full citation

NO FEE AMOUNT IS STATED IN THIS ENTRY. Bothell excludes Chapter 1 from both the IBC and the IRC, which means permits, inspections and fees are governed by BMC Chapter 20.02, the Construction Administrative Code - and that chapter was NOT opened for this entry. A figure is declined rather than invented, and the reader is pointed at the chapter that holds it.

Sources & verification

Key facts verified against official sources. Last reviewed 2026-09-16.

Department & other records

Fees, timelines, and adopted codes are researched from each jurisdiction's published records — see how we verify. Requirements change and vary by project, so always confirm the current details with the Bothell building department before you submit. PermitBase is an independent reference and is not affiliated with any government agency.

View current record →All versions →

Permalink: /washington/king-county/bothell/as-of/2026-09-16/

Snapshot date: 2026-09-16

Commit: 8418d38

Reproducible from PermitBase’s version-controlled dataset, commit 8418d38.