Skip to main content
PermitBase

You are viewing the permanent link for the record currently in effect, published 2026-09-16.

Spokane building permits

Spokane, Washington — as published 2026-09-16.

Reviewed 2026-09-16 · Source

Codes adopted

SPOKANE NAMES NO EDITION. SMC 17F.040.010 adopts "the Washington State Building Code (chapter 19.27 RCW and chapter 19.27A RCW) as modified by chapter 51-50 WAC", and lists the "International Building Code (IBC), current adopted Edition, as published by the International Code Council, including Washington State amendments, ICC/ANSI A117.1, and the current adopted Edition International Existing Building Code". The phrase "current adopted Edition" does the work of a year.THE RESIDENTIAL CODE IS ADOPTED WITH THREE WHOLE PARTS CUT OUT. SMC 17F.040.010 adopts the "International Residential Code, current adopted Edition (except Part IV - Energy Efficiency, Part VII - Plumbing, and Part VIII - Electrical) as published by the International Code Council, and chapter 51-51 WAC; and Appendix Q: Dwelling Unit Fire Sprinkler Systems, WAC 51-51-60105". Energy, plumbing and electrical come from elsewhere.The same section adopts the "International Energy Conservation Code, current adopted Edition, chapter 51-11C and 51-11R WAC."Spokane splits construction law across eleven chapters of Title 17F: General Provisions (17F.010), Alternative Methods and Materials for Mixed-use Residential Buildings (17F.020), Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (17F.030), Building Code (17F.040), Electrical Code (17F.050), Elevator Code (17F.060), Existing Building and Conservation Code (17F.070) and Fire Code (17F.080) among them.RCW 19.27 - the Washington State Building Code applies statewide.

Permit types & fees

Building Permit

Required for construction in Spokane under SMC Title 17F. The city adopts the state building code at whatever edition is currently in force rather than naming a year.

Reviewed 2026-09-16 · Source

Requirements

  • Built to the IBC or IRC at the "current adopted Edition" - SMC 17F.040.010 names no year
  • The IRC is adopted WITHOUT Part IV Energy Efficiency, Part VII Plumbing and Part VIII Electrical; those come from separate adoptions
  • Filed through Accela Citizen Access; a registered account is required
  • Design to the criteria in SMC 17F.040.105, not to a neighbouring city's numbers

Required documents

  • RequiredPermit applicationPermit application, filed through the city's Accela Citizen Access portal (a registered account is required to apply)

Fee schedule

Fee typeAmountNotes
Building permit feeNot stated in this guide - see notes
NO PERMIT AMOUNTS ARE PRINTED HERE FOR SPOKANE, AND THE CODE SECTION YOU WOULD GO TO IS EMPTY. Show full citation

NO PERMIT AMOUNTS ARE PRINTED HERE FOR SPOKANE, AND THE CODE SECTION YOU WOULD GO TO IS EMPTY. SMC 17F.040.060 is titled "Fees" and its entire text is "Section 108 of the IBC is deleted." - it removes the model building code's fee provisions and puts nothing in their place. The city publishes a "Development Services Fee Schedule 2026", named on its Accela permit portal; THIS GUIDE HAS NOT OPENED THAT SCHEDULE and does not state what is in it. Ask the Development Services Center. AND BE CAREFUL WHO ASKS YOU FOR MONEY: the city's own portal carries a fraud alert stating that it "will never request payment through emailed wire transfer instructions."

Deck Permit

Residential decks in Spokane are built to the IRC as adopted at SMC 17F.040.010, using the city's own design criteria table.

Reviewed 2026-09-16 · Source

Requirements

  • Built to the International Residential Code at the current adopted Edition
  • Ground snow load 39 lbs/ft2; minimum roof snow load 30 lbs/ft2 for any covered structure
  • Frostline depth 24 inches - footings must reach below it
  • Wind Speed (ult) 110 mph and Seismic Design Category C

Required documents

  • RequiredPermit applicationPermit application, filed through the city's Accela Citizen Access portal (a registered account is required to apply)

Fee schedule

Fee typeAmountNotes
Building permit feeNot stated in this guide - see notes
NO PERMIT AMOUNTS ARE PRINTED HERE FOR SPOKANE, AND THE CODE SECTION YOU WOULD GO TO IS EMPTY. Show full citation

NO PERMIT AMOUNTS ARE PRINTED HERE FOR SPOKANE, AND THE CODE SECTION YOU WOULD GO TO IS EMPTY. SMC 17F.040.060 is titled "Fees" and its entire text is "Section 108 of the IBC is deleted." - it removes the model building code's fee provisions and puts nothing in their place. The city publishes a "Development Services Fee Schedule 2026", named on its Accela permit portal; THIS GUIDE HAS NOT OPENED THAT SCHEDULE and does not state what is in it. Ask the Development Services Center. AND BE CAREFUL WHO ASKS YOU FOR MONEY: the city's own portal carries a fraud alert stating that it "will never request payment through emailed wire transfer instructions."

Verify a Contractor Licence

Washington contractors register with the Department of Labor & Industries. Registration is a STATE record; Spokane does not issue it. Note that Spokane's boiler and pressure vessel inspection program also moved to Labor & Industries on 1 July 2026.

Reviewed 2026-09-16 · Source

Requirements

  • Check contractor registration with Washington State Labor & Industries

Required documents

  • OptionalNo city document requiredNo city document - check the state register

Fee schedule

Fee typeAmountNotes
Building permit feeNot stated in this guide - see notes
NO PERMIT AMOUNTS ARE PRINTED HERE FOR SPOKANE, AND THE CODE SECTION YOU WOULD GO TO IS EMPTY. Show full citation

NO PERMIT AMOUNTS ARE PRINTED HERE FOR SPOKANE, AND THE CODE SECTION YOU WOULD GO TO IS EMPTY. SMC 17F.040.060 is titled "Fees" and its entire text is "Section 108 of the IBC is deleted." - it removes the model building code's fee provisions and puts nothing in their place. The city publishes a "Development Services Fee Schedule 2026", named on its Accela permit portal; THIS GUIDE HAS NOT OPENED THAT SCHEDULE and does not state what is in it. Ask the Development Services Center. AND BE CAREFUL WHO ASKS YOU FOR MONEY: the city's own portal carries a fraud alert stating that it "will never request payment through emailed wire transfer instructions."

Sources & verification

Key facts verified against official sources. Last reviewed 2026-09-16.

Fees, timelines, and adopted codes are researched from each jurisdiction's published records — see how we verify. Requirements change and vary by project, so always confirm the current details with the Spokane building department before you submit. PermitBase is an independent reference and is not affiliated with any government agency.

View current record →All versions →

Permalink: /washington/spokane-county/spokane/as-of/2026-09-16/

Snapshot date: 2026-09-16

Commit: 6cf9cee

Reproducible from PermitBase’s version-controlled dataset, commit 6cf9cee.