This is PermitBase’s published record for Rifle as of 2026-08-14. It has since been superseded — see the current record. A historical record reflects what PermitBase had verified at that time; it may not capture a real-world change the jurisdiction had made but PermitBase had not yet verified, and it includes any errors we later corrected. Snapshots are never edited retroactively.
Rifle building permits
VerifiedRifle, Colorado — as published 2026-08-14.
Verified 2026-07-06 · Source
Codes adopted
Permit types & fees
Residential Building Permit (New Construction)
VerifiedRequired for construction of a new home or a new addition to a home within Rifle city limits. Reviewed under the City's adopted 2015 International Codes, 2009 IECC (Energy Zone 5), and 2003 ANSI A117.1, plus the City's own snow/wind/seismic/frost design criteria. Electrical work is permitted and inspected separately by the State of Colorado (DORA State Electrical Board), not the City; plumbing and mechanical scope is bundled into this single building permit.
Verified 2026-07-06 · Source
Requirements
- A complete set of plans, as listed on the permit application, is required; plans will not be reviewed until minimum plan submittal requirements are met
- The Senior Planner and Building Official must approve the plans and the setbacks for new construction and additions
- A site plan must be submitted to Planning prior to or together with the building permit application for any new structure
- Design criteria per the City's own published table: 40 psf roof snow live load, 47 psf ground snow load, 120 mph ultimate basic wind speed, Seismic Design Category C, 36-inch frost line depth, -2°F winter design temperature
- Electrical work is NOT included in this City building permit — it is permitted and inspected exclusively by the State of Colorado (DORA State Electrical Board); electrical permit applications are available from the Building Department but must be submitted to the State
- Plumbing and mechanical permits and their fees are paid at the time of issuance of the building permit — these are not separate standalone applications in Rifle
- A $500 non-refundable deposit is required for residential new construction, applied toward the plan-review/building-permit fee at issuance
- Use tax of 4.25% on construction materials (valuation divided by 2, then multiplied by 4.25%) must be paid at permit issuance; no Certificate of Occupancy issues until use tax is paid
- A Foundation Location Certificate is required at foundation completion, before any further construction proceeds
- All contractors performing work must hold a current City of Rifle contractor license, obtained via Cloudpermit
- Applications submitted online via Cloudpermit (us.cloudpermit.com/gov)
- Minimum plan submittal checklist includes (non-exhaustive): engineered foundation plan, heating calculations, soils report, site plan (existing/proposed structures, paved surfaces, refuse areas, drainage, easements, property-line distances, legal description), front elevation with height, energy plans, floor plans for each floor (heating/water heater location, room sizes/uses, window/door locations and sizes, egress-compliant bedrooms, plumbing fixture locations, smoke detector locations, attic/crawl space access), means of egress and stairway details, framing/truss/joist specifications, water and sewer utility connection locations
Required documents
- RequiredResidential Building Permit Application (Cloudpermit)Submitted online via the City's Cloudpermit portal
- RequiredComplete Plan Set (3 copies plus digital copy)Architectural/structural/site plans per the minimum plan submittal checklist on the application form
- RequiredSite PlanSubmitted to Planning prior to or with the building permit application for new structures; must show structure locations/dimensions, paved surfaces, refuse areas, drainage plan, easements, property-line distances, and legal description
- RequiredSoils ReportListed on the minimum plan submittal checklist
- RequiredEnergy PlansRequired per the minimum plan submittal checklist, consistent with the adopted 2009 IECC
Fee schedule
| Fee type | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Building Permit Fee — valuation $1.00 to $500.00 | $23.50 | Building Permit Fee Worksheet, City of Rifle Building Department |
| Building Permit Fee — valuation $500.01 to $2,000.00 | $23.50 for the first $2,000.00 plus $3.05 for each additional $100.00 or fraction thereof, to and including $2,000.00 | — |
| Building Permit Fee — valuation $2,000.01 to $25,000.00 | $69.25 for the first $2,000.00 plus $14.00 for each additional $1,000.00 or fraction thereof, up to $25,000.00 | — |
| Building Permit Fee — valuation $25,000.01 to $50,000.00 | $391.25 for the first $25,000.00 plus $10.10 for each additional $1,000.00 or fraction thereof, up to $50,000.00 | — |
| Building Permit Fee — valuation $50,000.01 to $100,000.00 | $643.75 for the first $50,000.00 plus $7.00 for each additional $1,000.00 or fraction thereof, up to $100,000.00 | — |
| Building Permit Fee — valuation $100,000.01 to $500,000.00 | $993.75 for the first $100,000.00 plus $5.60 for each additional $1,000.00 or fraction thereof, up to $500,000.00 | — |
| Building Permit Fee — valuation $500,000.01 to $1,000,000.00 | $3,233.75 for the first $500,000.00 plus $4.75 for each additional $1,000.00 or fraction thereof, up to $1,000,000.00 | — |
| Building Permit Fee — valuation $1,000,000.01 and up | $5,608.75 for the first $1,000,000.00 plus $3.15 for each additional $1,000.00 or fraction thereof | — |
| Use Tax | 4.25% of (project valuation ÷ 2) | Paid at permit issuance; no Certificate of Occupancy until paid |
| Application Deposit (residential new construction) | $500.00, non-refundable | Applied toward the plan-review/permit fee at issuance, per the Fee Schedules page and the Building Permit Application form |
| Parkland Dedication Fee (new residential unit) | $4,120.36 per unit (escalates 5% every January 1) | Single Family Residential Fee Schedule 2026, RMC 16-1-90(d)(3); applies to new buildings, verify against subdivision/annexation agreements |
| Offsite Street Impact Fee (new residential unit) | $6,995.95 per unit (escalates 3% every January 1) | Single Family Residential Fee Schedule 2026, RMC 16-1-100 / RMC 13-6-10 et seq. |
| Water Rights Dedication Fee | $450.00 per EQR | Single Family Residential Fee Schedule 2026, RMC 13-6-10 et seq. |
| Water System Improvement Fee | $6,857.44 per EQR (escalates 3% every January 1) | Ordinance 7, Series of 2021; RMC 13-4-70 |
| Sewer System Improvement Fee | $6,754.75 per EQR (escalates 3% every January 1) | Ordinance 7, Series of 2021; RMC 3-4-10 |
Residential Remodel Permit
VerifiedRequired for residential remodel work within Rifle city limits, including demolition, new walls (structural or not), heating, plumbing, decks (including covered/elevated decks), re-roofs, fences, water heaters, furnaces, AC/swamp coolers, fireplaces, wood stoves, and gas fireplaces. Reviewed under the City's adopted 2015 International Codes as locally amended.
Verified 2026-07-06 · Source
Requirements
- Permits are required for, at minimum: demolition; new walls (structural or not); heating; plumbing; decks (including covered and elevated decks); re-roofs; fences; hot water heaters; furnaces; AC/swamp coolers; fireplaces, wood stoves, and gas fireplaces; solar panels; ADUs; and commercial sprinkler systems, per the Residential Information page
- A complete, code-compliant plan/scope description is required as listed on the Residential Remodel Application
- Electrical work is NOT included in this City permit — apply directly to the State of Colorado (DORA State Electrical Board)
- Plumbing and mechanical work is bundled into this permit; fees for both are paid at issuance
- Applications submitted online via Cloudpermit
- Contact the Building Department (970-665-6461) with questions about whether a specific project requires a permit
Required documents
- RequiredResidential Remodel Application (Cloudpermit)Submitted online via the City's Cloudpermit portal
Fee schedule
| Fee type | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Building Permit Fee (same valuation-based table as new construction) | $23.50 minimum, scaling per the City's Building Permit Fee Worksheet valuation tiers | Building Permit Fee Worksheet, City of Rifle Building Department |
| Use Tax | 4.25% of (project valuation ÷ 2) | Paid at permit issuance |
Electrical Permit (Issued by the State of Colorado, Not the City)
VerifiedAll electrical permits within Rifle are obtained from the Colorado State Electrical Board (Division of Professions and Occupations, DORA), not the City of Rifle. This is stated directly and verbatim on the City's own Non-Residential Building Permit Application: 'Electrical permits are obtained from the State Electrical Board. Applications are available from the Building Department.'
Verified 2026-07-06 · Source
Requirements
- Apply for the electrical permit directly with the Colorado Division of Professions and Occupations (DORA), State Electrical Board — not the City of Rifle
- Electrical permit application forms are available from the City's Building Department even though the City itself does not process or issue the permit
- Electrical valuation should still be identified/tracked as part of overall project scope even though the City does not permit the electrical work itself
Required documents
- RequiredState of Colorado Electrical Permit (DORA / State Electrical Board)Obtained directly from the State, not the City; application forms available from the City's Building Department
Fee schedule
| Fee type | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| State of Colorado electrical permit fees | Set by the State of Colorado (DORA State Electrical Board), not the City of Rifle | Not within this file's scope — confirm current state fee schedule directly with DORA (dpo.colorado.gov/Electrical) |
Plumbing Permit (Bundled with Building Permit)
VerifiedPlumbing work in Rifle is permitted through the same building permit application as the overall project, not a separate standalone plumbing permit. The City's own Non-Residential Building Permit Application states directly: 'Plumbing and mechanical permits, as well as all fees, are paid for at the time of issuance of the Building Permit.'
Verified 2026-07-06 · Source
Requirements
- Plumbing scope is included in the building permit application — there is no separate standalone plumbing permit application in Rifle, unlike some other jurisdictions in this corpus
- Plumbing permit fees are paid together with the building permit fee at the time of building permit issuance
- Plumbing work must comply with the City's adopted code edition (2015 International Codes, which includes the International Plumbing Code by reference) as locally amended
- Contractors performing plumbing work must hold a current City of Rifle contractor license (via Cloudpermit)
Required documents
- RequiredBuilding Permit Application (Cloudpermit) — plumbing scope includedPlumbing work is described within the overall building permit application; no separate plumbing-specific form exists
Fee schedule
| Fee type | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Plumbing permit fee | Included within, and paid together with, the overall Building Permit Fee at issuance | Per the City's own Non-Residential Building Permit Application: 'Plumbing and mechanical permits, as well as all fees, are paid for at the time of issuance of the Building Permit' |
Mechanical / HVAC Permit (Bundled with Building Permit)
VerifiedMechanical/HVAC work (heating, furnaces, AC/swamp coolers, fireplaces, wood stoves, gas fireplaces) in Rifle is permitted through the same building permit application as the overall project, consistent with the City's stated process: 'Plumbing and mechanical permits, as well as all fees, are paid for at the time of issuance of the Building Permit.'
Verified 2026-07-06 · Source
Requirements
- Heating, furnace, AC/swamp cooler, fireplace, wood stove, and gas fireplace work all require a permit per the Residential Information page's explicit list
- Mechanical scope is included in the building permit application — there is no separate standalone mechanical permit application in Rifle
- Mechanical permit fees are paid together with the building permit fee at the time of building permit issuance
- Work must comply with the City's adopted 2015 International Codes (which includes the International Mechanical Code by reference) as locally amended
Required documents
- RequiredBuilding Permit / Residential Remodel Application (Cloudpermit) — mechanical scope includedMechanical work is described within the overall permit application; no separate mechanical-specific form exists
Fee schedule
| Fee type | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Mechanical permit fee | Included within, and paid together with, the overall Building Permit Fee at issuance | Per the City's own Non-Residential Building Permit Application: 'Plumbing and mechanical permits, as well as all fees, are paid for at the time of issuance of the Building Permit' |
Solar PV Permit (Building Permit + State-Issued Electrical, Statewide Fee Cap)
VerifiedRequired for installation of rooftop or ground-mounted solar photovoltaic systems within Rifle city limits. The structural/roof-mounting scope is processed through the City's standard building permit (Cloudpermit), same as any other residential remodel item explicitly listed on the City's own Residential Information page ('solar panels'). The electrical-connection scope is NOT issued by the City — like all electrical work in Rifle, it is permitted and inspected exclusively by the Colorado State Electrical Board (DORA). Statewide law caps the combined government fees a solar installation may be charged and requires larger municipalities to offer automated permitting.
Verified 2026-07-19 · Source
Requirements
- Structural/roof-mounting scope: submit via the City's Cloudpermit portal (us.cloudpermit.com/gov) using the Residential Remodel Application (or the Residential/Non-Residential Building Permit Application for new construction), since 'solar panels' is explicitly listed among items requiring a residential permit on the City's Residential Information page
- Electrical-connection scope: apply directly to the Colorado State Electrical Board (DORA, Division of Professions and Occupations) — NOT through the City — per the City's own Building Permit Application language that all electrical permits are obtained from the State Electrical Board
- Statewide fee cap under C.R.S. § 24-48.5-113 (enacted by HB21-1284): the AGGREGATE of all charges/fees any Colorado local government may impose to install an active solar energy system is capped at $500 for a residential system under 10kW and $1,000 for a commercial system or a residential system 10kW or over — this cap applies to the City's building-permit-side fee for the solar installation, on top of (and separate from) whatever DORA charges for the state electrical permit
- Automated-permitting mandate under HB25-1096 (C.R.S., effective 8/6/2025): municipalities with population over 5,000 — which includes Rifle (population ~10,600) — must adopt an automated residential solar permitting platform (e.g., SolarAPP+) capable of processing at least 75% of code-compliant applications for existing single-family homes; as of the last verification, Rifle is not listed among the small number of Colorado jurisdictions SolarAPP+'s own Colorado landing page names as live (Bennett, Wheat Ridge, City & County of Denver, Alamosa County, Gilpin County) — confirm current implementation status directly with the Building Department (970-665-6461)
- A Foundation Location Certificate and the general building-permit submittal/plan-review process otherwise apply the same as for any other residential remodel item
Required documents
- RequiredResidential Remodel Application (Cloudpermit) — structural/roof-mounting scopeSame City form used for other listed remodel items (decks, re-roofs, fences); describe the solar installation's mounting scope and location
- RequiredState of Colorado Electrical Permit (DORA / State Electrical Board) — electrical-connection scopeObtained directly from the State, not the City; application forms available from the City's Building Department per its own Building Permit Application
Fee schedule
| Fee type | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| City of Rifle Building Permit Fee (structural/roof-mounting scope) — subject to statewide cap | Calculated per the City's standard valuation-based Building Permit Fee Worksheet, but the AGGREGATE of all City fees/charges for the solar installation cannot exceed $500 (residential, under 10kW) or $1,000 (commercial, or residential 10kW+), per C.R.S. § 24-48.5-113 (HB21-1284) | C.R.S. § 24-48.5-113, enacted by HB21-1284 (2021); Show full citationHideC.R.S. § 24-48.5-113, enacted by HB21-1284 (2021); applies statewide to every Colorado local government, overriding the City's general Table 1-A-style valuation fee schedule specifically for solar installations once that schedule would otherwise exceed the statutory cap. The City does not publish a solar-specific line item on its own Building Permit Fee Worksheet — this cap is the governing ceiling regardless. Re-verified 2026-07-30 against the SIGNED BILL (leg.colorado.gov 2021a_1284_signed.pdf): the caps are $500 residential / $1,000 nonresidential, and the bill's own markup shows why the older $2,000 figure still circulates — it reads 'five hundred dollars for a residential application or [two] ONE thousand dollars for a nonresidential application', i.e. HB21-1284 amended the prior two-thousand-dollar nonresidential cap DOWN to one thousand. Anything citing $2,000 for a nonresidential solar permit is pre-2021 law. DRIFT-CHECK CAVEAT: this entry will be flagged every sweep and it is NOT drift — the tokenizer splits the statute citation 'C.R.S. § 24-48.5-113' into the numbers 24, 48.5 and 113 and treats 48.5/113 as claimed dollar figures. They are section numbers, not fees. Same hyphen-group collision the detector already documents for phone numbers, but occurring on the claim side rather than in the page haystack. |
| State of Colorado electrical permit fees (electrical-connection scope) | Set by the State of Colorado (DORA State Electrical Board), not the City of Rifle | Confirm current state fee schedule directly with DORA (dpo.colorado.gov/Electrical); Show full citationHideConfirm current state fee schedule directly with DORA (dpo.colorado.gov/Electrical); this state-level fee is separate from, and not itself capped in the same statute as, the City's own fee ceiling above (the statutory cap in C.R.S. § 24-48.5-113 governs local-government charges, i.e., the City's fee). |
Roofing Permit (Re-Roofing)
VerifiedA permit is required for re-roofing within Rifle city limits, per the City's own Residential Information page, which explicitly lists 're-roofs' among the work types requiring a residential permit. Reviewed under the City's adopted 2015 International Codes.
Verified 2026-07-06 · Source
Requirements
- Re-roofing is explicitly listed as requiring a permit on the City's Residential Information page
- Applications submitted online via Cloudpermit
- Work must comply with the City's adopted 2015 International Residential Code roofing provisions and the City's published snow-load design criteria (40 psf roof live load, 47 psf ground snow load)
Required documents
- RequiredResidential Remodel Application (Cloudpermit)Re-roofing is submitted under the general residential remodel permit application
Fee schedule
| Fee type | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Building Permit Fee (valuation-based table) | $23.50 minimum, scaling per the City's Building Permit Fee Worksheet valuation tiers | The City's fee schedule materials do not carry a distinct flat re-roofing fee tier (unlike some other jurisdictions in this corpus) — re-roofing is fee'd via the same general valuation-based Building Permit Fee Worksheet |
Fence Permit
VerifiedA permit is required to install a fence within Rifle city limits, per the City's own Residential Information page, which explicitly lists 'fences' among the work types requiring a residential permit.
Verified 2026-07-06 · Source
Requirements
- Fences are explicitly listed as requiring a permit on the City's Residential Information page
- Applications submitted online via Cloudpermit
- Contact the Building Department (970-665-6461) to confirm any height, setback, or zoning-specific limitations that may apply beyond the building-permit requirement itself — this file could not independently locate a published fence-height/zoning threshold document during this extraction
Required documents
- RequiredResidential Remodel Application (Cloudpermit)Fences are submitted under the general residential remodel permit application
Fee schedule
| Fee type | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Building Permit Fee (valuation-based table) | $23.50 minimum, scaling per the City's Building Permit Fee Worksheet valuation tiers | No distinct flat fence-permit fee tier was found published; fences appear to be fee'd via the same general valuation-based worksheet |
Accessory Dwelling Unit (ADU) Permit
VerifiedA permit is required for ADU construction within Rifle city limits, per the City's own Residential Information page, which explicitly lists 'ADU's' among the work types requiring a residential permit. This file could not independently locate Rifle's specific ADU zoning standards (size caps, setback, parking, or design requirements) during this extraction beyond the building-permit requirement itself.
Verified 2026-07-06 · Source
Requirements
- ADUs are explicitly listed as requiring a permit on the City's Residential Information page
- Applications submitted online via Cloudpermit
- Contact the Building Department (970-665-6461) or Community Development for ADU-specific zoning standards (size, setback, parking, design) — this file could not confirm a published ADU-specific zoning ordinance section during this extraction and does not want to invent size/setback figures not directly sourced
Required documents
- RequiredResidential Remodel Application / Building Permit Application (Cloudpermit)ADU construction is submitted through the general building/remodel permit application; a separate zoning/land-use review may also apply and should be confirmed with Community Development
Fee schedule
| Fee type | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Building Permit Fee (valuation-based table) | $23.50 minimum, scaling per the City's Building Permit Fee Worksheet valuation tiers | No ADU-specific flat fee was found published; confirm with Community Development whether any separate land-use application fee also applies |
EV Charging Station Permit (Issued by the State of Colorado, Not the City)
VerifiedAs with all electrical work in Rifle, the permit for a Level 2 (or higher) electric vehicle charging station/EVSE is obtained from the Colorado State Electrical Board (Division of Professions and Occupations, DORA), not the City of Rifle — the same finding this file's electrical-permit entry documents, stated verbatim on the City's own Non-Residential Building Permit Application: 'Electrical permits are obtained from the State Electrical Board.' No separate City building permit is required for a standalone EVSE circuit unless it also involves a new structure, in which case the City's own valuation-based Building Permit Fee Worksheet applies to that scope (this file found no evidence the statutory $500/$1,000 solar fee cap under C.R.S. § 24-48.5-113 extends to EV chargers — that cap is solar-specific).
Verified 2026-07-20 · Source
Requirements
- Apply for the electrical permit directly with the Colorado Division of Professions and Occupations (DORA), State Electrical Board — not the City of Rifle
- Electrical permit application forms are available from the City's Building Department even though the City itself does not process or issue the permit
- Installation must comply with NEC Article 625 (Electric Vehicle Power Transfer System) and any state electrical board amendments
- Rifle's own population (approximately 9,900 per the 2020 Census) falls under the 10,000-person threshold for a 'covered municipality' under Colorado's HB24-1173 EV charger permitting law, but Garfield County (population well over 20,000) is a 'covered county' subject to the law's 12/31/2025 permitting-process compliance deadline
Required documents
- RequiredState of Colorado Electrical Permit (DORA / State Electrical Board)Obtained directly from the State, not the City; application forms available from the City's Building Department
Fee schedule
| Fee type | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| State of Colorado electrical permit fees | Set by the State of Colorado (DORA State Electrical Board), not the City of Rifle | Not within this file's scope — confirm current state fee schedule directly with DORA (dpo.colorado.gov/Electrical). Same mechanism this file's electrical-permit entry documents; no dedicated EV/EVSE fee line item was located. |
Commercial Building Permit (New Construction)
Required for new commercial/non-residential building construction within Rifle city limits, using the City's own Non-Residential / Commercial Building Permit Application (distinct in form and deposit amount from the residential application, though it draws fees from the same valuation-based Building Permit Fee Worksheet). Reviewed under the City's adopted 2015 International Codes as locally amended. As with residential work, electrical scope is permitted and inspected separately by the State of Colorado (DORA State Electrical Board), not the City; plumbing and mechanical scope is bundled into this single building permit.
Reviewed 2026-08-02 · Source
Requirements
- Apply via the City's Non-Residential/Commercial Building Permit Application, submitted online through Cloudpermit (us.cloudpermit.com/gov), per the Commercial Information page ('Apply for your commercial permit on Cloudpermit')
- A non-refundable $1,500 Application Deposit is required for any NEW commercial construction (distinct from the $500 deposit for commercial remodel/tenant finish), due at the time of application and applied toward plan review fees at permit issuance — per the City's own Fee Schedules ('Building Permit Fee Estimator') page and confirmed on the face of the Non-Residential Building Permit Application form itself, which prints '$1,500.00 DEPOSIT' in its City-use header block
- Plan review fees are calculated at 65% of the building permit fee, per the City's own Fee Schedules page ('Calculating the Building Permit Fee, Plan Review Fee & Use Tax') — this fee is separate from, and in addition to, the base Building Permit Fee itself
- Building Permit Fee is calculated from the same valuation-based fee table used for residential permits (e.g. $23.50 minimum up to $5,608.75 + $3.15/$1,000 over $1,000,000), per the City's own Building Permit Fee Worksheet, which states the fee table applies without a separate commercial-specific schedule
- Use tax of 4.25% on construction materials (valuation divided by 2, then multiplied by 4.25%) must be paid at permit issuance; no Certificate of Occupancy issues until use tax is paid
- A complete set of plans (three copies plus a digital copy) meeting the minimum plan submittal checklist is required; only COMPLETE applications will be reviewed
- A site plan must be submitted to Planning prior to or together with the building permit application for all new structures
- Owner approval (a letter from the property owner) is required on the application if the applicant is not the property owner
- Project valuation, occupancy group, type of construction, and required parking spaces are determined/recorded by the Building Department as part of application processing, per the fields on the face of the Non-Residential Building Permit Application
- A Foundation Location Certificate is required at the time of foundation completion and before any other construction is commenced, per the face of the Non-Residential Building Permit Application
- All contractors performing work must hold a current City of Rifle contractor license, obtained via Cloudpermit
- Electrical work is NOT included in this City building permit — it is permitted and inspected exclusively by the State of Colorado (DORA State Electrical Board); electrical permit applications are available from the Building Department but must be submitted to the State
- Plumbing and mechanical permits and their fees are paid at the time of issuance of the building permit — these are not separate standalone applications in Rifle
- Non-residential-specific impact/utility fees may apply on top of the building permit fee, including Water Rights Dedication Fee, Water System Improvement Fee, Sewer System Improvement Fee, Water Meter Cost (by meter size), Water Connection/Inspection Fee, Sewer Connection Inspection Fee, and an Offsite Street Impact Fee calculated case-by-case for nonresidential uses, per the City's Non-Residential General Fee Schedule 2026
Required documents
- RequiredNon-Residential / Commercial Building Permit Application (Cloudpermit)Submitted online via the City's Cloudpermit portal; distinct form from the residential application, capturing occupancy group, type of construction, parking spaces required, and land use in addition to standard project fields
- RequiredComplete Plan Set (3 copies plus digital copy)Architectural/structural/site plans per the minimum plan submittal checklist on the application form
- RequiredSite PlanSubmitted to Planning prior to or with the building permit application for new structures
- OptionalOwner Approval LetterRequired when the applicant is not the property owner, per the application form's 'OWNER APPROVAL: (need letter from property owner)' field
Fee schedule
| Fee type | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Building Permit Fee (same valuation-tier table as residential — see residential-building-permit entry for full table) | $23.50 minimum (valuation $1-$500), scaling to $5,608.75 + $3.15/$1,000 over $1,000,000 | Building Permit Fee Worksheet, City of Rifle Building Department — the worksheet states one table is used to calculate the fee 'based on the valuation of the project,' with no separate commercial-specific tier structure found |
| Plan Review Fee | 65% of the Building Permit Fee | City of Rifle Fee Schedules page ('Building Permit Fee Estimator'): 'Plan review fees are calculated at 65% of the building permit fee.' This fee applies to all City building permits, not only… Show full citationHideCity of Rifle Fee Schedules page ('Building Permit Fee Estimator'): 'Plan review fees are calculated at 65% of the building permit fee.' This fee applies to all City building permits, not only commercial ones, but is documented here because it was newly confirmed during this research pass and is not yet reflected in this file's other permit-type entries. |
| Application Deposit (new commercial construction) | $1,500.00, non-refundable | Due at time of application; applied toward plan review fees at permit issuance. City of Rifle Fee Schedules page and confirmed on the face of the Non-Residential Building Permit Application form |
| Use Tax | 4.25% of (project valuation ÷ 2) | Paid at permit issuance; no Certificate of Occupancy until paid |
| Water Rights Dedication Fee | $450.00 per EQR | Non-Residential General Fee Schedule 2026, RMC 13-6-10 et seq. |
| Water System Improvement Fee | $6,857.44 per EQR (escalates 3% every January 1) | Non-Residential General Fee Schedule 2026, Ordinance 7 Series of 2021, RMC 13-4-70 |
| Sewer System Improvement Fee | $6,754.75 per EQR (escalates 3% every January 1) | Non-Residential General Fee Schedule 2026, Ordinance 7 Series of 2021, RMC 13-4-90 |
| Water Meter Cost | $830.00 (3/4 inch); $927.00 (1 inch); $2,554.00 (1.5 inch); $2,869.00 (2 inch) | Non-Residential General Fee Schedule 2026; 2-inch displacement used for restaurants unless also connected to a sprinkler system, in which case a compound meter is used |
| Water Connection/Inspection Fee | $119.89 (escalates 2% every January 1) | Non-Residential General Fee Schedule 2026 |
| Sewer Connection Inspection Fee | $131.95 (escalates 2% every January 1) | Non-Residential General Fee Schedule 2026 |
| Offsite Street Impact Fee | Calculated on a case-by-case basis for nonresidential uses | Non-Residential General Fee Schedule 2026 and Non-Residential Street Impact Fee Calculator 2026; not a fixed published figure — confirm with the Building Department for a specific project |
| Infill Fee Reduction Area (IFRA) discount | 20% reduction of the fees on the Non-Residential General Fee Schedule if the project is located within the designated Infill Fee Reduction Area | Non-Residential General Fee Schedule 2026 |
Tenant Improvement / Commercial Remodel Permit
Required for tenant finish-out and commercial remodel work within Rifle city limits. The City's own Fee Schedules page treats 'any commercial remodel or tenant finish' as a single bundled deposit category ($500, the same deposit charged for residential new construction), distinct from the $1,500 deposit charged for entirely new commercial construction — confirming this is a genuine, separately-priced permit category rather than an assumption. Applications are submitted through the same Non-Residential/Commercial Building Permit Application and Cloudpermit portal used for new commercial construction. If the project also involves a new business/tenant use, a separate Planning Department Sales Tax Zoning Review is required before a City sales tax license can be issued.
Reviewed 2026-08-02 · Source
Requirements
- Apply via the Non-Residential/Commercial Building Permit Application, submitted online through Cloudpermit (us.cloudpermit.com/gov), per the Commercial Information page
- A non-refundable $500 Application Deposit is required for 'any commercial remodel or tenant finish,' due at the time of application and applied toward plan review fees at permit issuance — per the City's own Fee Schedules page
- Plan review fees are calculated at 65% of the building permit fee, per the City's Fee Schedules page
- Building Permit Fee is calculated from the same valuation-based fee table used for residential and new commercial construction permits, per the City's own Building Permit Fee Worksheet
- Use tax of 4.25% on construction materials (valuation divided by 2, then multiplied by 4.25%) must be paid at permit issuance; no Certificate of Occupancy issues until use tax is paid
- Only COMPLETE applications will be reviewed; a complete plan set is required per the minimum plan submittal checklist
- If your business requires a City of Rifle sales tax license (i.e., a new use/tenant in the space), you must first fill out the Sales Tax Zoning Review Sheet and submit it to the Planning Department for approval before applying for the sales tax license — this is a separate Planning process from the building permit itself, and the City's own Commercial Information page notes that 'a new use of a building may have additional building code requirements for the safety of the business owner and the public'
- Electrical work is NOT included in this City building permit — apply directly to the Colorado State Electrical Board (DORA)
- Plumbing and mechanical permits and their fees are paid at the time of issuance of the building permit — not separate standalone applications
- All contractors performing work must hold a current City of Rifle contractor license, obtained via Cloudpermit
- This file could not independently locate a published, itemized 'tenant improvement' plan-submittal checklist distinct from the general Non-Residential Building Permit Application's checklist — confirm project-specific submittal requirements (e.g., for interior-only scope with no foundation/structural work) directly with the Building Department
Required documents
- RequiredNon-Residential / Commercial Building Permit Application (Cloudpermit)Same form used for new commercial construction; submitted online via Cloudpermit
- RequiredComplete Plan Set (3 copies plus digital copy)Scope-appropriate plans per the minimum plan submittal checklist on the application form
- OptionalSales Tax Zoning Review Sheet (PDF)Required only if the tenant/business requires a City of Rifle sales tax license; must be approved by the Planning Department before a sales tax license application is submitted — separate from, and in addition to, the building permit
Fee schedule
| Fee type | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Building Permit Fee (same valuation-tier table as residential and new commercial construction — see residential-building-permit entry for full table) | $23.50 minimum (valuation $1-$500), scaling to $5,608.75 + $3.15/$1,000 over $1,000,000 | Building Permit Fee Worksheet, City of Rifle Building Department |
| Plan Review Fee | 65% of the Building Permit Fee | City of Rifle Fee Schedules page: 'Plan review fees are calculated at 65% of the building permit fee.' |
| Application Deposit (commercial remodel or tenant finish) | $500.00, non-refundable | Due at time of application; applied toward plan review fees at permit issuance. City of Rifle Fee Schedules page: 'A non-refundable $500 deposit is required for all new residential construction and any commercial remodel or tenant finish.' |
| Use Tax | 4.25% of (project valuation ÷ 2) | Paid at permit issuance; no Certificate of Occupancy until paid |
Sign Permit
VerifiedRequired to erect, move, alter, reconstruct, or repair any permanent or temporary sign within Rifle city limits, per Article VIII of Chapter 16 of the Rifle Municipal Code (the City's Sign Code, repealed and re-enacted in full by Ordinance No. 19, Series of 2014). Applications are reviewed by the City's Department of Planning & Development (970-665-6491), a distinct phone line from the Building Department's main permit line (970-665-6461); commercial signs can alternatively be applied for online through Cloudpermit per the City's Commercial Information page.
Verified 2026-08-14 · Source
Requirements
- A sign permit is required to erect, move, alter, reconstruct, or repair any permanent or temporary sign, except signs exempt under Sec. 16-8-70, per Sec. 16-8-30(a)(1)
- On properties with more than one primary use, a separate sign permit is required for each individual use, per Sec. 16-8-30(a)(2)
- Changing or replacing the copy on an existing lawful sign does not require a permit, provided the copy change does not alter the sign's size or create a code violation, per Sec. 16-8-30(a)(3)
- Application must include: street address of the proposed sign structure; names/addresses of the owner, sign contractor, and erector; a legible site plan showing sign location and setbacks to adjacent property lines/buildings; a detailed drawing of dimensions, materials, and colors (a structural engineer's certification may be required for freestanding or projecting signs); a graphic drawing or photograph of the sign copy; a description of lighting if applicable; written lease/permission if the sign is off the premises advertised; and the sign permit fee and plan check fee per the current fee schedule (Sec. 16-8-30(b))
- City staff certifies the application complete or rejects it as incomplete with written notice of deficiencies; once complete, City staff reviews and may approve, approve with conditions, or deny the sign permit, per Sec. 16-8-30(b)
- Once issued, it is unlawful to change, modify, or deviate from the terms of an approved sign permit without City consent
- Proof of public liability insurance is required for freestanding signs, projecting signs, and any sign located on or above public right-of-way, per Sec. 16-8-30(b)(d)
- Signs must be made by a professional sign company or other qualified entity as determined by the Planning Director, per Sec. 16-8-40(a)
- A permanent sign is defined as one intended to be displayed on a continuing/ongoing basis for more than ninety (90) days
- Sign standards (number of signs, maximum area, maximum height, lighting restrictions) vary by zoning district, per the district-by-district table in Sec. 16-8-50 (e.g., in LDR/MDR/MDR-X/EZ districts, awning/canopy/wall signs are capped at 5% of building facade or 25 sq ft, whichever is less)
- Certain signs are exempt from the permit requirement under Sec. 16-8-70, including: building identification signs, incidental signs, landmark signs, addresses, vacancy/no-vacancy signs, no-trespassing signs (max 8 sq ft), time/temperature signs (max 10 sq ft), changeable-copy signs for churches/schools/civic uses/theaters, nonvisible signs, and various time-limited temporary signs (special-event banners, construction signs, holiday decorations, garage-sale signs, election signs, real-estate signs) each subject to its own size/duration limits spelled out in the ordinance
- The Sign Application Form requires the authorized representative/sign contractor to provide their City of Rifle contractor license number, per Rifle Municipal Code Sec. 16-8-80(2) cited on the form itself
Required documents
- RequiredSign Application Form (Department of Planning & Development)Paper application listing sign type, property information, valuation, project team/contractor information, and required sign plan/site plan drawings; submitted to 202 Railroad Avenue, Rifle, CO 81650
- OptionalSign Permit Application (Cloudpermit)Online alternative channel for commercial sign permits, listed under 'Commercial Sign Permit' on the City's Commercial Information page
- RequiredSign Plan / Site Plan DrawingsDesign of proposed sign (text, dimensions, height, illumination, fabrication specs) plus a scaled property layout (boundary dimensions, sign location, distance to property lines, street frontage, existing buildings)
- OptionalProof of Public Liability InsuranceRequired only for freestanding signs, projecting signs, and any sign located on or above public right-of-way
Fee schedule
| Fee type | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Sign Plan (Land Use Fee Sheet) | $40.00 | City of Rifle Land Use Fee Sheet (PDF, updated 11/10/2014), read directly and RE-VERIFIED VISUALLY by rendering the PDF to a 200-DPI PNG: PDF text extraction's raw text extraction misaligned this… Show full citationHideCity of Rifle Land Use Fee Sheet (PDF, updated 11/10/2014), read directly and RE-VERIFIED VISUALLY by rendering the PDF to a 200-DPI PNG: PDF text extraction's raw text extraction misaligned this two-column table and initially showed '$300' next to 'Sign Plan' — the rendered image confirms the correct figure is $40, with no deposit listed, and the $300 figure actually belongs to a different line item ('GIS System Integration') in the adjacent column. This appears to be the Planning Department's land-use review fee for a sign application, per Resolution No. 6, Series of 2010. |
| Sign Permit Fee and Plan Check Fee (general) | As established by the current fee schedule, per Rifle Municipal Code Sec. 16-8-30(b)(9) | The ordinance itself does not state a dollar figure and instead references 'the current fee schedule.' No sign-specific dollar figure beyond the $40 Sign Plan fee above was found on the City's Fee… Show full citationHideThe ordinance itself does not state a dollar figure and instead references 'the current fee schedule.' No sign-specific dollar figure beyond the $40 Sign Plan fee above was found on the City's Fee Schedules page or Building Permit Fee Worksheet; any structural/valuation-based component of a sign project would use the same general Building Permit Fee Worksheet valuation table documented in this file's residential-building-permit entry. |
Fire Sprinkler / Fire Alarm System Permit
VerifiedFire protection system permitting for properties within Rifle is administered by the Colorado River Fire Protection District (CRFR, doing business as Colorado River Fire Rescue) — a special district formed in 2012 from the merger of the Rifle Fire Protection District and the Burning Mountains Fire Protection District, serving Rifle, Silt, and New Castle — not the City of Rifle itself. CRFR's Fire Prevention Division, led by a Division Chief of Fire Prevention / Fire Marshal, handles fire code plan review and inspections. as of the last verification, CRFR's official website (crfr.us) does not publish a fire sprinkler/alarm permit application, a construction-permit fee schedule, or a plan-review timeline. Separately, the City of Rifle's own Cross Connection Control Program requires every sprinkler system in the city to go through 'the sprinkler permit application process' and have a tested backflow-prevention device installed.
Verified 2026-08-14 · Source
Requirements
- Fire protection/suppression and alarm system permitting within Rifle falls under the jurisdiction of the Colorado River Fire Protection District (CRFR), not the City of Rifle's Building Department, which handles only the structural/building-code side of a project
- CRFR was formed in 2012 by the merger of the Rifle Fire Protection District and the Burning Mountains Fire Protection District (New Castle, Silt), per CRFR's own 'Our History' page
- CRFR's Fire Prevention Division is led by a Division Chief of Fire Prevention / Fire Marshal (Orrin Moon as of the last verification), supported by a Fire Inspector (Kurt Lundin as of the last verification), confirmed directly on CRFR's own Administration staff listing
- No dedicated fire sprinkler/alarm permit application, fee schedule, or plan-review-timeline page was found published on CRFR's official website as of the last verification — checked the Prevention & Life Safety page, the Prevention page, the Administration page, and the CRFR Strategic Documents page directly (all rendered via a real browser, since the site's Streamline CMS returns an empty content shell to non-JavaScript fetchers), plus the site's own internal search for 'sprinkler permit,' which surfaced only a legacy pre-2012-merger code-comparison table and a 2023 board-meeting agenda mentioning routine underground sprinkler inspections — neither is a permit application or fee page
- Separately, the City of Rifle's Cross Connection Control Program requires all sprinkler systems in the City to go through 'the sprinkler permit application process' and have a back-flow prevention device installed, tested annually by a certified back-flow technician, per the City's own Commercial Information page
- Confirm the current fire-system permit process, required documents, and fees directly with CRFR's Fire Prevention Division (970-625-1243, 1850 Railroad Avenue, Rifle, CO 81650)
Required documents
- RequiredFire Sprinkler / Alarm System Plans (submitted to CRFR Fire Prevention Division)The exact required document set is not published on CRFR's website as of the last verification; confirm directly with CRFR's Fire Prevention Division
- RequiredAnnual Backflow Prevention Device Test DocumentationRequired annually for all sprinkler systems under the City of Rifle's Cross Connection Control Program, separate from CRFR's own fire code process
Fee schedule
| Fee type | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| CRFR Fire Sprinkler / Alarm Permit and Plan Review Fees | No fire sprinkler/alarm permit fee schedule is published on CRFR's official website (crfr.us) as of the last verification — checked the Prevention & Life Safety, Prevention, Administration, and CRFR… Show full citationHideNo fire sprinkler/alarm permit fee schedule is published on CRFR's official website (crfr.us) as of the last verification — checked the Prevention & Life Safety, Prevention, Administration, and CRFR Strategic Documents pages directly, plus the site's own internal search. Contact CRFR's Fire Prevention Division directly at 970-625-1243 (1850 Railroad Avenue, Rifle, CO 81650) for current permit and plan-review fees. |
Change of Use / New Business Sales Tax Zoning Review
VerifiedThe City of Rifle does not publish a standalone zoning 'change of use permit' product the way some other Colorado municipalities in this corpus do. Its functional equivalent is the Sales Tax License Review process: any new business that requires a City of Rifle sales tax license must first obtain Planning Department zoning-consistency approval and a Building Official site-safety review via a Sales Tax License Review form, per the City's Commercial Information page ('New Use in a Commercial Building') and the Sales Tax License Review form itself.
Verified 2026-08-14 · Source
Requirements
- If a new business requires a City of Rifle sales tax license, the applicant must fill out the Sales Tax License Review form and bring it to the Building Department BEFORE applying for the sales tax license, per the City's Commercial Information page
- The Sales Tax License Review form's own instructions state applicants must receive Planning Department approval prior to applying for a City of Rifle Sales Tax License
- The Planning Department reviews whether the proposed business is consistent with the zone district in which it is proposed
- The Building Official separately reviews customer safety issues with the site, per the form's own instructions
- The form requires: proposed location/address, description of business, applicant/business name and contact information, and property owner information
- A new use of a building may have additional building code requirements for the safety of the business owner and the public, per the City's Commercial Information page — if the new use also involves construction, the project additionally routes through this file's tenant-improvement-permit or commercial-building-permit entries
- This review is a precondition to obtaining a City of Rifle sales tax license, not a separate standalone 'permit' product with its own name or number
Required documents
- RequiredSales Tax License Review Form (Planning & Development Department)Must be completed and submitted to the Planning Department, with Planning Department and Building Official sign-off recorded before a sales tax license application can proceed
Fee schedule
| Fee type | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Sales Tax License Review | No fee is stated on the Sales Tax License Review form itself, and no distinct line item for this review appears on the City's Land Use Fee Sheet (updated 11/10/2014) or the general Fee Schedules page… Show full citationHideNo fee is stated on the Sales Tax License Review form itself, and no distinct line item for this review appears on the City's Land Use Fee Sheet (updated 11/10/2014) or the general Fee Schedules page — both checked directly. Contact the Department of Planning & Development at 970-665-6491 for current fee information, if any applies. |
Sources & verification
Verified against official sources. Last reviewed 2026-07-06.
Fee schedules
Applications & forms
Department & other records
Fees, timelines, and adopted codes are researched from each jurisdiction's published records — see how we verify. Requirements change and vary by project, so always confirm the current details with the Rifle building department before you submit. PermitBase is an independent reference and is not affiliated with any government agency.