Skip to main content
PermitBase

You are viewing the permanent link for the record currently in effect, published 2026-09-16.

Clarkston building permits

Clarkston, Washington — as published 2026-09-16.

Reviewed 2026-09-16 · Source

Codes adopted

INTERNATIONAL BUILDING CODE, 2021 EDITION. CMC 15.04.010 adopts "the International Building Code, 2021 Edition, including Appendix Chapters E and I, as published by the International Code Council". (Ord. 1442, 2008; Ord. 1594, 2018; Ord. 1646, 2021; Ord. 1716, 2024)INTERNATIONAL RESIDENTIAL CODE, 2021 EDITION, WITH CHAPTERS CARVED OUT. CMC 15.05.010 adopts "the International Residential Code, 2021 Edition, including Appendix Chapters E, G and H, and specifically excluding Chapters 11 and 25 through 43". The exclusions matter: Chapter 11 is energy and Chapters 25 through 43 are the plumbing, mechanical and electrical provisions, and Clarkston adopts those separately. (Ord. 1441, 2008; Ord. 1598, 2018; Ord. 1650, 2021; Ord. 1712, 2024)Clarkston adopts each code in its own chapter rather than in one omnibus section: CMC 15.04 IBC, 15.05 IRC, 15.06 IEBC, 15.08 Electrical, 15.12 Uniform Plumbing, 15.28 IPMC, 15.32 IMC and 15.36 Energy Code.RCW 19.27 - the Washington State Building Code applies statewide.

Permit types & fees

Building Permit

Required for most construction in Clarkston, including work many owners assume is exempt. The city adopts the 2021 IBC and 2021 IRC in separate chapters of CMC Title 15.

Reviewed 2026-09-16 · Source

Requirements

  • A building permit is required for most construction projects
  • Fences, re-roofs and siding installation are named by the city as permit work
  • Verify the address is inside the city limits on the Asotin County Parcel Map first
  • Apply through the city's IWorQ permit portal or email permits@clarkston-wa.com

Required documents

  • RequiredBuilding permit applicationBuilding permit application, submitted through the city's IWorQ permit portal or by email to permits@clarkston-wa.com

Fee schedule

Fee typeAmountNotes
Building permit feeNot stated in this guide - see notes
FEE AMOUNTS ARE NOT PRINTED IN THIS GUIDE FOR CLARKSTON, AND THE REASON IS SPECIFIC. Show full citation

FEE AMOUNTS ARE NOT PRINTED IN THIS GUIDE FOR CLARKSTON, AND THE REASON IS SPECIFIC. The fee matrix published in the online code at CMC 15.40.010 is attributed to "(Ord. 1735 Sec. 1 (Exh. A), 2025)". Ordinance No. 1744, adopted 10 August 2026, amends CMC 15.40 and repeals Ord. 1735. The code site's own banner reads "Includes legislation through 02-09-2026", so the matrix on display predates the amendment. The replacement amounts live in Exhibit A of the ordinance PDF, and that exhibit does not survive mechanical reading - its rows and its dollar figures come apart, so a real amount would be shown against the wrong kind of work. Ask the Building and Planning Department for the current matrix, or ask for Ordinance 1744 Exhibit A by name.

Deck Permit

Decks are a named category in Clarkston's permit fee matrix, listed separately as covered and uncovered. Residential decks fall under the 2021 IRC as adopted at CMC 15.05.010.

Reviewed 2026-09-16 · Source

Requirements

  • Built to the International Residential Code, 2021 Edition, as adopted by CMC 15.05.010
  • Design to a wind speed of 110 mph - CMC 15.05.010 inserts "Wind speed to 110 mph." at IRC Section R301.2(1)
  • Covered and uncovered decks are separate lines in the city's fee matrix

Required documents

  • RequiredBuilding permit applicationBuilding permit application, submitted through the city's IWorQ permit portal or by email to permits@clarkston-wa.com

Fee schedule

Fee typeAmountNotes
Building permit feeNot stated in this guide - see notes
FEE AMOUNTS ARE NOT PRINTED IN THIS GUIDE FOR CLARKSTON, AND THE REASON IS SPECIFIC. Show full citation

FEE AMOUNTS ARE NOT PRINTED IN THIS GUIDE FOR CLARKSTON, AND THE REASON IS SPECIFIC. The fee matrix published in the online code at CMC 15.40.010 is attributed to "(Ord. 1735 Sec. 1 (Exh. A), 2025)". Ordinance No. 1744, adopted 10 August 2026, amends CMC 15.40 and repeals Ord. 1735. The code site's own banner reads "Includes legislation through 02-09-2026", so the matrix on display predates the amendment. The replacement amounts live in Exhibit A of the ordinance PDF, and that exhibit does not survive mechanical reading - its rows and its dollar figures come apart, so a real amount would be shown against the wrong kind of work. Ask the Building and Planning Department for the current matrix, or ask for Ordinance 1744 Exhibit A by name.

Verify a Contractor Licence

Washington contractors register with the Department of Labor & Industries. Registration is a STATE record; Clarkston does not issue it.

Reviewed 2026-09-16 · Source

Requirements

  • Check contractor registration with Washington State Labor & Industries

Required documents

  • OptionalNo city document requiredNo city document - check the state register

Fee schedule

Fee typeAmountNotes
Building permit feeNot stated in this guide - see notes
FEE AMOUNTS ARE NOT PRINTED IN THIS GUIDE FOR CLARKSTON, AND THE REASON IS SPECIFIC. Show full citation

FEE AMOUNTS ARE NOT PRINTED IN THIS GUIDE FOR CLARKSTON, AND THE REASON IS SPECIFIC. The fee matrix published in the online code at CMC 15.40.010 is attributed to "(Ord. 1735 Sec. 1 (Exh. A), 2025)". Ordinance No. 1744, adopted 10 August 2026, amends CMC 15.40 and repeals Ord. 1735. The code site's own banner reads "Includes legislation through 02-09-2026", so the matrix on display predates the amendment. The replacement amounts live in Exhibit A of the ordinance PDF, and that exhibit does not survive mechanical reading - its rows and its dollar figures come apart, so a real amount would be shown against the wrong kind of work. Ask the Building and Planning Department for the current matrix, or ask for Ordinance 1744 Exhibit A by name.

Sources & verification

Key facts verified against official sources. Last reviewed 2026-09-16.

Fees, timelines, and adopted codes are researched from each jurisdiction's published records — see how we verify. Requirements change and vary by project, so always confirm the current details with the Clarkston building department before you submit. PermitBase is an independent reference and is not affiliated with any government agency.

View current record →All versions →

Permalink: /washington/asotin-county/clarkston/as-of/2026-09-16/

Snapshot date: 2026-09-16

Commit: 6cf9cee

Reproducible from PermitBase’s version-controlled dataset, commit 6cf9cee.