Skip to main content
PermitBase

Building Permit in Bothell, Washington

Required for construction in Bothell. The city adopts the 2021 IBC and IRC with Chapter 1 excluded, and runs administration through its own Construction Administrative Code.

Reviewed 2026-09-16 · Source

When you need this permit

  • Built to the 2021 IBC and 2021 IRC as adopted by the State Building Code Council
  • IBC Chapter 1 and IRC Chapters 1, 11 and 25 through 43 are NOT adopted
  • IRC Appendices AWF (Radon), AWQ (Tiny Homes) and AWU (Dwelling Unit Fire Sprinklers) are included
  • Design snow loads shall not be less than 25 psf
  • Permits, inspections and fees come from BMC Chapter 20.02

Required documents

Check off what you have — your progress is saved on this device.

Not ready yet0 of 1 required documents checked.

This checker covers one permit. A full project usually triggers several — our checklist will assemble all of them, free →

Fee schedule

Permit fee (set in the Construction Administrative Code)
NO FEE AMOUNT IS STATED IN THIS ENTRY. Bothell excludes Chapter 1 from both the IBC and the IRC, which means permits, inspections and fees are governed by BMC Chapter 20.02, the Construction… Show full citationNO FEE AMOUNT IS STATED IN THIS ENTRY. Bothell excludes Chapter 1 from both the IBC and the IRC, which means permits, inspections and fees are governed by BMC Chapter 20.02, the Construction Administrative Code - and that chapter was NOT opened for this entry. A figure is declined rather than invented, and the reader is pointed at the chapter that holds it.
Not stated in this guide - see notes

Review timeline

Plan review
Not published — contact the department

How long did your Building Permit permit actually take in Bothell?

Anonymous — one question, no email. Answers are combined and only shown once at least 5 people have reported.

Inspection process

    Tips

    • Bothell spans King and Snohomish counties - confirm which one your parcel is in before relying on any county-level requirement
    • The snow load is stated as a MINIMUM, not a fixed design value
    • Older citations to a Bothell 'Title 15' building provision are stale - the title was recodified to Title 20
    • Many sections in the chapter are repealed but still numbered, so gaps are normal

    Frequently asked questions

    Bothell requires a building permit for: Built to the 2021 IBC and 2021 IRC as adopted by the State Building Code Council; IBC Chapter 1 and IRC Chapters 1, 11 and 25 through 43 are NOT adopted; IRC Appendices AWF (Radon), AWQ (Tiny Homes) and AWU (Dwelling Unit Fire Sprinklers) are included; Design snow loads shall not be less than 25 psf; Permits, inspections and fees come from BMC Chapter 20.02. If your project isn't listed, confirm with City of Bothell at (425) 806-6150 before starting work.

    In Bothell, the published Permit fee (set in the Construction Administrative Code) is: Not stated in this guide - see notes. These are the jurisdiction's own published figures — see the fee schedule table and source citations on this page.

    Bothell does not publish a plan-review timeline for this permit. Contact City of Bothell at (425) 806-6150 for current turnaround.

    You'll need: Permit application and plans. See the required-documents checklist on this page for details on each.

    Apply through City of Bothell at 18415 101st Ave NE, Bothell, WA 98011. Phone: (425) 806-6150. Official information: https://www.bothellwa.gov/.

    The 2021 Editions of the International Building Code and International Residential Code, as adopted by the State Building Code Council in Chapters 51-50 and 51-51 WAC, with Chapter 1 excluded from both. Note that the adopting section's own citation line contains 2021 twice meaning different things - the 2021 Edition, and Ordinance 2344 of 2021.

    Not less than 25 psf. BMC 20.04.040 amends IBC Section 1608.1 to read "Design snow loads shall not be less than 25 psf, but design roof loads shall not be less than that determined by Section 1607." That is a floor rather than a fixed value, and the second clause means roof loads may be governed by Section 1607 instead. Confirm with the city for a specific structure.

    Both. The Census records Bothell as two parts sharing one place code: about 31,507 residents in King County and 20,263 in Snohomish County on the 2024 estimates, roughly 61 percent and 39 percent. This guide files Bothell under King County because that is the larger part, but nearly four in ten Bothell addresses are in Snohomish County. Check your specific parcel.

    Sources & verification

    Key facts verified against official sources. Last reviewed 2026-09-16.

    Fees, timelines, and adopted codes are researched from each jurisdiction's published records — see how we verify. Requirements change and vary by project, so always confirm the current details with the Bothell building department before you submit. PermitBase is an independent reference and is not affiliated with any government agency.

    Bothell's permit history isn't searchable here yet

    This page covers what the permit requires. What we don't have for Bothell yet is the record of permits actually issued — the history you'd search by street address. That is a gap in our coverage, not a statement about any particular property.

    Your email, and the place — never an address. We only use it to tell you when Bothell lands. Privacy.

    Other permits in Bothell

    Compare building permit fees across Washington

    Look up this fee in a different city →

    Embed this data card →

    Now live

    Build your Bothell project checklist

    Describe your project once and get every permit, document, and fee it triggers in Bothell — in one checklist. Free, for any city and any number of projects.

    Get started →