Cheyenne Wells building permits
Department contacts, adopted codes, permit types, fees, and gotchas for Cheyenne Wells, Colorado.
Last verified 2026-08-13 · Source · Embed this page’s badge · Version history
Building department
- Address
- Cheyenne Wells City Complex, Cheyenne Wells, CO 80810
- Phone
- 719-767-5865 (Town of Cheyenne Wells direct line, confirmed via the town's own live Payments page 2026-07-23 -- distinct from the Cheyenne County Land Use Administrator line 719-767-5872 previously the only number located)
- Website
- Official site
Codes adopted
Colorado has no statewide-mandated building code edition. Under the Colorado Constitution's home-rule provisions (art. XX, home rule for municipalities since 1902; home rule for counties since 1970), building codes and zoning are an enumerated home-rule charter power, so cities and counties adopt and amend their own construction codes independently — predominantly the I-Codes, with editions and local amendments varying by jurisdiction. The one statewide floor is for energy: HB22-1362 (2022) created the Energy Code Board (jointly appointed by the Colorado Energy Office and the Department of Local Affairs) and requires that, on or after July 1, 2023 and before July 1, 2026, any municipality or county that adopts or updates a building code must adopt and enforce an energy code achieving performance equivalent to or better than the 2021 IECC together with the board's Model Electric Ready and Solar Ready Code (which includes electric-ready, EV-ready, and solar-ready provisions); from July 1, 2026 onward the floor shifts to the board's Model Low Energy and Carbon Code or an equivalent. Electrical and plumbing permitting defaults to the Colorado State Electrical Board and State Plumbing Board (within DORA's Division of Professions and Occupations) — the state issues permits and inspects statewide except in counties/jurisdictions that operate their own certified Electrical or Plumbing Inspection Program, in which case the local program has authority instead. Always confirm the currently adopted code edition, local amendments, and inspection authority (state board vs. local program) with the specific jurisdiction before submitting plans.
The Town of Cheyenne Wells publishes no specific International Code Council edition — IBC, IRC, IECC or similar — and no current National Electrical Code edition. Show full textShow less
The Town of Cheyenne Wells publishes no specific International Code Council edition — IBC, IRC, IECC or similar — and no current National Electrical Code edition. None appears in Board of Trustees meeting minutes from June 2025 through January 2026 or in any town fee-schedule notice. This is recorded as unresolved rather than assumed. The Town's building-permit process does operate: it is evidenced by recurring line-item permit approvals in posted Board of Trustees minutes and a January 2026 fee resolution.
The town's own official website (townofcheyennewells.com, redirecting to chh.228.myftpupload.com) hosts a downloadable current Municipal Code (municipal_code.doc, last saved 2024-05-16 per the file's own metadata) whose… Show full textShow less
The town's own official website (townofcheyennewells.com, redirecting to chh.228.myftpupload.com) hosts a downloadable current Municipal Code (municipal_code.doc, last saved 2024-05-16 per the file's own metadata) whose Title 15 'Buildings and Construction,' Chapter 15.04 'Building Code,' Section 15.04.010 states verbatim: 'There is adopted by the town... that certain building code known as the Uniform Building Code, Short Form, 1961 Edition, as published by the International Conference of Building Officials... (Ord. 123 S1, 1963).' The fee table in this same chapter (Sec. 15.04.020) was last amended by Ord. 172 in 1984 (5 cents/sq ft, or a flat $5.00 for other work) — clearly superseded in practice by the town's own January 14, 2026 fee resolution ($25 flat + $0.20/sq ft) documented in localAmendments below, but the underlying 1961 UBC Short Form code adoption itself has not been repealed. This code-adoption ordinance predates and is distinct from the ICC (which did not exist until 1994), so it does not contradict the absence of a current ICC edition noted above, but it does mean the town is not wholly without ANY adopted building code on its own books; it is simply a very old one (1961 UBC Short Form via 1963/1984 ordinances) whose current enforcement status versus informal Board-of-Trustees practice is unconfirmed. Chapter 15.08 'Electrical Code' (Ord. 48, 1917) separately requires (Sec. 15.08.040(D)) that 'the inspector must in all cases inspect any electric wiring within the corporate limits of the town within forty-eight (48) hours of the receipt of notice from the electrical wiring contractor that the work is completed (holidays and Sundays not included)' — this is a POST-completion field-inspection response window for electrical work specifically, not a plan-review/permit-issuance turnaround, and is not encoded as reviewTimelineDays for that reason (see reviewTimelineNote on the residential-building-permit entry).
Permit types & fees
Residential Building Permit
Required for residential construction, additions, and structural work within Cheyenne Wells town limits. Reviewed and approved via Board of Trustees monthly meeting motion after Town Manager inspection/signature. No specific ICC code edition was found published by the town; fee is calculated by structural square footage rather than construction valuation.
From$25.00Commercial Building Permit (New Construction, Additions, Remodels, Tenant Improvements)
Cheyenne Wells has no separate commercial building-permit application, fee tier, or code track -- commercial and business construction within town limits runs through the same single Building Permit process used for residential work: submitted to the Town, inspected and signed by the Town Manager, and approved by Board of Trustees motion at a regular monthly meeting, billed at the same $25.00 Building Permit Application Fee plus $0.20 per square foot Structural Square Foot Fee. This is a confirmed shared product rather than an absence of commercial permitting: the Town's complete 2026 General Fee Schedule (Resolution #02-2026) carries no commercial or valuation-based fee line of any kind, the Town's 2026 Building Permit form is the only application published for any project type, and business-entity applicants (e.g. H&T Properties LLC, On Point/Bill Lowe) appear in Board of Trustees minutes under the same 'Building Permits' agenda item as homeowners. No current ICC-family code edition -- no IBC, IRC, or IECC -- is adopted by the Town for any occupancy; the only building-code adoption still on the Town's own books is a pre-ICC Uniform Building Code, Short Form, 1961 Edition (Ord. 123, 1963), whose fee table was last amended in 1984 and has not been repealed. No evidence of a third-party plan-review contractor (of the kind common among small Colorado towns) was found in the Town's public materials; review is performed directly by the Town Manager. A construction-materials use tax does apply: the Colorado Department of Revenue lists Cheyenne Wells as a state-collected city with a 2% use tax rate applying to motor vehicles and building materials, collected by the state rather than itemized in the Town's own fee resolution. Fire-related review for a commercial project falls to the Cheyenne Wells Fire Protection District #1, a separate special district whose own website publishes no plan-review or permit function.
From$25.00Demolition Permit
Required to demolish or remove a residential structure or trailer within Cheyenne Wells town limits, evidenced by multiple named demolition permits approved in Board of Trustees minutes (e.g. 'Tiffany Knudsen - Demolish Home,' 'Dimas Guttierrez - Tear Down Trailer,' 'H&T Properties LLC Remove House').
$25.00Solar Photovoltaic (PV) Permit
Cheyenne Wells publishes no dedicated solar/photovoltaic permit type, fee line, or code reference -- not in its own downloadable Building Permit application form, its January 14, 2026 Fee Resolution (as reported in Board of Trustees meeting coverage), and its current Municipal Code Title 15 (Buildings and Construction). A rooftop or ground-mount solar PV installation within town limits would most likely be processed the same way as any other structural project in this jurisdiction: submitted to the Town, inspected/signed by the Town Manager, and approved by Board of Trustees motion at a regular monthly meeting, billed under the same flat Building Permit Application Fee plus per-square-foot Structural Square Foot Fee used for the general residential-building-permit entry -- but this is inferred from the town's general permitting pattern; no solar-specific record appears in the town's public minutes.
From$25.00Electric Vehicle (EV) Charger / EVSE Permit
Cheyenne Wells publishes no dedicated EV charger, EVSE, or electric vehicle charging station permit type, fee line, or code reference -- not in its own downloadable Building Permit application form, its January 14, 2026 Fee Resolution (as reported in Board of Trustees meeting coverage), and its current Municipal Code Title 15 (Buildings and Construction). A residential Level 2 EVSE circuit installation would most likely be processed the same way as any other electrical scope in this jurisdiction: submitted to the Town, inspected/signed by the Town Manager, and approved by Board of Trustees motion at a regular monthly meeting -- but this is inferred from the town's general permitting pattern (the same inference applied to the solar-pv-permit entry); no EV-specific record appears in the town's public minutes.
$25.00Sign Permit
Cheyenne Wells publishes no standalone sign ordinance, sign permit application, sign-specific fee, or dimensional/height standard. In the Town's currently self-hosted Municipal Code (municipal_code.doc, a 1989 Book Publishing Co. codification), Title 17 'ZONING' is explicitly labeled '(RESERVED)' with zero codified text, and no 'sign' definition or sign-regulation section appears anywhere else in the document's 17 Titles. The Town's complete 2026 General Fee Schedule (Resolution #02-2026) has no sign-specific line item among its full fee list (Building Permit Application Fee, Fence/Sidewalk/Driveway, Structural Sq Ft Fee, Zoning/Animal Permit Application Fee, Burn Permit, Peddler's License, etc.). The Town's current 2026 Building Permit Application form (a scanned PDF) has no sign-specific field or checkbox -- only generic 'INTENDED USE OF STRUCTURE' and 'LAND IS PRESENTLY ZONED' fields that could technically capture a sign as a structure. One unresolved fact: the Town's own hearing notice (published via Kiowa County Press) shows the Board of Trustees held a public hearing on Monday, September 9, 2024 on 'ORDINANCE #285-2024 "ZONING ORDINANCE"' -- this is the most likely vehicle by which any sign standard would now be codified, and is plausibly the same 'new zoning ordinance' referenced in March 2025 Board of Trustees minutes (storage-unit criteria and setbacks; see tipsAndGotchas). However, Ordinance #285-2024's full text is not published anywhere: it does not appear on the Town's current Resources page document list, and no adopted/published version appears on Kiowa County Press beyond the September 2024 hearing notice itself. Given Cheyenne Wells' extremely small scale (758 residents, no dedicated Building or Planning Division), a sign structure would most likely be processed as any other 'structure' under the general Building Permit Application -- the same inference used for the solar-pv-permit and ev-charger-permit entries -- but this is inferred from the Town's general permitting pattern, not confirmed against a sign-specific record, and the unpublished status of Ordinance #285-2024 leaves genuine doubt about whether a dedicated sign standard now exists.
From$25.00Fire Sprinkler and Fire Alarm System Permit
Colorado is home-rule with no statewide fire-code floor, so the governing authority for fire sprinkler/alarm work must be identified per jurisdiction. Cheyenne Wells is served by the Cheyenne Wells Fire Protection District #1 (also listed as 'Cheyenne County No. 1 Fire Protection District' on Cheyenne County's own districts page, co.cheyenne.co.us/districts.html) -- a legally separate special district from the Town of Cheyenne Wells municipal government, established in 1958 as successor to the Cheyenne Wells Hose Company #1 (organized 1923), covering approximately 900 square miles and about 1,300 residents across the eastern part of the county. The District's own website (cheyennewellsfire.com) publishes no Fire Prevention, plan-review, permit, or inspection section of any kind -- its content is limited to emergency-response information, service-area description, and department history. No fire-suppression or fire-alarm code (no adopted International Fire Code edition, no NFPA 13/72 adoption) is codified anywhere in the Town's own Municipal Code: Title 15 (Buildings and Construction) contains only Chapter 15.04 (Building Code -- the old 1961 Uniform Building Code Short Form, per the codesAdopted entry) and Chapter 15.08 (Electrical Code); the only fire-adjacent provision anywhere in the code is Chapter 8.12 ('Inflammable Liquids,' Ord. 151, 1980), which narrowly regulates underground fuel-tank storage and prohibits certain hazardous occupancies (e.g., dry cleaning) -- it is not a fire-suppression or fire-alarm-system code, and Title 17 Zoning (which might otherwise carry fire-district overlay provisions) is '(RESERVED)' in the same document. One statewide requirement applies in Cheyenne Wells regardless of local jurisdiction: Colorado's Division of Fire Prevention and Control (DFPC) administers a mandatory statewide Fire Suppression System Contractor and Sprinkler Fitter Registration program under 8 CCR 1507-11 -- any company installing or maintaining a fire suppression system, and any individual sprinkler fitter, must be registered with DFPC before performing that work anywhere in Colorado, independent of whether the local jurisdiction has its own fire marshal or permitting process. Neither the Town nor the District publishes a local fire-sprinkler/alarm plan-review, permit, or fee process; work would most likely be filed under the Town's general Building Permit Application (Town Manager inspection prior to Board of Trustees motion approval, per the Town's established general pattern), but this is inferred, not confirmed against a fire-suppression-specific record.
See fee scheduleChange of Use Permit
Cheyenne Wells has no standalone change-of-use permit application or fee -- change of use is one of the fields captured directly on the Town's own general Building Permit Application (2026 Building Permit form). The form's fields include, verbatim: 'LAND IS PRESENTLY ZONED,' 'INTENDED USE OF STRUCTURE,' 'CLASS OF WORK: NEW__ADDITION__ALTERATION__REPAIR__MOVE__TEAR DOWN__,' 'CHANGING USE FROM,' and 'CHANGING USE TO' -- i.e., a change of use is processed as part of the same single combined form used for every other permit type, not a separate application. It follows the Town's standard process: Town Manager inspection and signature, then Board of Trustees approval by motion at a regular monthly meeting, billed at the same $25.00 Building Permit Application Fee used for other work (per Resolution #02-2026). Whether the Town's separate $35.00 'Zoning/Animal Permit Application Fee' (also per Resolution #02-2026, whose own text notes 'Additional Fees May Apply') is also charged for a change-of-use filing specifically is NOT stated anywhere in the fee resolution and is not assumed either way. A genuine, unresolved gap remains on the substantive zoning side: the Town's currently codified Municipal Code Title 17 (Zoning) is explicitly '(RESERVED)', so there is no published zoning-use table to check a proposed new use against. A Zoning Ordinance (#285-2024) was the subject of a September 9, 2024 Board of Trustees public hearing per the Town's own hearing notice, and may have since established a use table, conditional-use process, or other change-of-use standard, but its full text is not published.
From$25.00
Cheyenne Wells's permit history isn't searchable here yet
This page covers what the permit requires. What we don't have for Cheyenne Wells yet is the record of permits actually issued — the history you'd search by street address. That is a gap in our coverage, not a statement about any particular property.
Your email, and the place — never an address. We only use it to tell you when Cheyenne Wells lands. Privacy.
New residential construction activity
New privately-owned residential construction onlyHousing units authorized by building permits for new privately-owned residential construction — this is not total permit volume (no commercial permits or remodels).
- Latest month (2026-07)
- No data reported
- Trailing 12 months
- No data reported
- Year to date (2026 YTD)
- No data reported
- Full year 2025
- 1units
1 buildings · $800,000 valuation
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey (BPS), 2026-07 vintage. Census survey data — separate from the permit-requirements verification above. All Colorado building activity
Tips & gotchas
- Cheyenne Wells (town) is NOT the same permitting authority as Cheyenne County — the county's own Land Use Administrator (Jerry Allen, landuse@co.cheyenne.co.us) runs a separate unincorporated-area program using a generic county-wide 'Building Permit — Cheyenne County Colorado' form (form BP-20__-____, covering zoning/setback/septic questions with no printed fee schedule or code-edition reference). Confirm which authority governs before applying, based on whether the parcel is inside Cheyenne Wells town limits.
- The town's official website is townofcheyennewells.com (redirecting to a GoDaddy-hosted chh.228.myftpupload.com staging domain). Its Resources page hosts the town's own downloadable Building Permit application form and current Municipal Code, but has NO dedicated fee-schedule page and NO stated review-timeline language of any kind. The most reliable ongoing source for this town's actual RECENT permit fees remains its own publicly posted Board of Trustees meeting minutes (Kiowa County Press), which name individual permits and, as of January 2026, a fee resolution — the official site's own downloadable Building Permit form and fee references appear stale/superseded by comparison.
- The town has no CURRENT ICC-family code edition (IBC/IRC/IECC/NEC) adoption, but its own current Municipal Code carries a still-on-the-books OLD code adoption: the Uniform Building Code, Short Form, 1961 Edition (adopted by Ord. 123 in 1963, fee table last amended by Ord. 172 in 1984) — a pre-ICC code (ICC did not exist until 1994), with no repeal appearing in the town's published code. See codesAdopted for the verbatim citation. This does not establish a modern code baseline.
- Electrical and plumbing permitting is inferred (not verified) to default to Colorado DORA's Division of Professions and Occupations state program, since no town-run program appears in modern sources; whether DORA's own jurisdiction list names Cheyenne Wells is unconfirmed. Note the town DOES have an old (1917-vintage) Electrical Code chapter on the books (Municipal Code Ch. 15.08) creating a town electrical department and a 48-hour post-completion inspection response window — its current real-world enforcement status versus the DORA-default inference above is unresolved.
- No distinct commercial building-permit mechanism exists in Cheyenne Wells — documented as a tip/FAQ on the residential-building-permit entry rather than as a separate commercial-building-permit entry, which would not reflect reality. Evidence: the complete RES-02-2026 fee schedule has no commercial fee tier; the town publishes exactly one Building Permit application form for all project types; business-entity applicants (H&T Properties LLC, On Point/Bill Lowe, a utility phone-line install) appear in Board minutes under the same 'Building Permits' agenda item as homeowners; and Cheyenne County's Comprehensive Plan and Zoning Ordinance (2022) expressly covers only 'the unincorporated areas of Cheyenne County' — county commercial zoning (which does exist for subdivided areas AROUND the towns) does not govern inside town limits. Note: the town has its own zoning ordinance — March 11, 2025 Board minutes discuss 'an addition to the town's new zoning ordinance with reference to storage unit criteria & setbacks,' and RES-02-2026 carries a Zoning/Animal Permit fee line — but the ordinance text itself is not published anywhere (the Resources page hosts only the Municipal Code.doc, whose Title 15 contains no zoning chapters), so whether it defines a commercial/business district is unknown.
- Additional corroborating detail: the Town's Resources page document list holds the town's minutes/agenda files, budgets, and resolutions RES-01/02/03-2026 (RES-03-2026 is unrelated — it cancels the 2026 municipal election per Ord. 2.16.010), and exactly one Building Permit document ('BUILDING PERMIT 1') exists for the whole town, with no second commercial-specific form. The current Building Permit application file (BUILDING-PERMIT-1-1.doc) is a single generic form with a 'CLASS OF WORK: NEW/ADDITION/ALTERATION/REPAIR/MOVE/TEAR DOWN' checkbox row and no residential/commercial split or valuation-tiered fee table. The full town Municipal Code.doc (a 1989 LexisNexis Municipal Codes/Book Publishing Co. codification, kept current through Ordinance 236 passed November 22, 2002 per its own preface) confirms in its own Table of Contents that Title 15 Buildings and Construction has only 2 chapters (15.04 Building Code, 15.08 Electrical Code), and that Title 16 Subdivisions and Title 17 Zoning are BOTH explicitly labeled '(RESERVED)' in the code's own text — affirmatively empty/never codified. Title 5 Business Licenses and Regulations contains only 4 narrow chapters (Cable Television, Peddlers/Shows/Circuses, Poolrooms/Billiard Halls/Skating Rinks/Bowling Alleys, Liquor License Renewal) — no general business-license requirement gates commercial construction. Neither Municode Library nor American Legal Publishing's code library carries a Cheyenne Wells, Colorado listing — the town's code is self-hosted only, with no third-party mirror. Cheyenne County's generic Building Permit PDF form (co.cheyenne.co.us/assets/pdfs/zoning_building_permit_2022.pdf) is likewise a single generic form (owner/location/zoning/intended-use/valuation fields, septic-system checkbox) with no residential/commercial distinction and no attached fee schedule.
- No numeric review-timeline commitment exists anywhere in Cheyenne Wells' complete public record for any permit type — including the 2026 General Fee Schedule resolution, the January 14, 2026 minutes, additional 2025-2026 Board minutes, the town's Payments page, and Cheyenne County's zoning page. The town's Payments page lists the Town Clerk Administrator's office phone (719-767-5865) and email (dktcw@rebeltec.net), reflected in the department block above.
- On the three least-documented permit types (sign, fire sprinkler/alarm, change of use): sign-permit and fire-sprinkler-alarm-permit carry 'partial' confidence. For signs: the Town's currently codified Municipal Code Title 17 (Zoning) is '(RESERVED)' with zero text; the 2026 General Fee Schedule and 2026 Building Permit Application contain no sign-specific fee or field; and the Town held a Board of Trustees public hearing on September 9, 2024 for 'Ordinance #285-2024, Zoning Ordinance,' whose adopted text is not published anywhere online (not on the Town's Resources page, not republished by Kiowa County Press beyond the hearing notice) -- the most likely-but-unconfirmed source of any modern sign standard. For fire sprinkler/alarm: Cheyenne Wells is served by the Cheyenne Wells Fire Protection District #1 (per Cheyenne County's own districts page, a legally separate special district from the Town, established 1958), whose own website publishes no prevention/plan-review/permit content; no fire-suppression code is codified in the Town's Municipal Code (Title 15 has only a Building Code and Electrical Code chapter); Colorado DFPC's statewide Fire Suppression System Contractor/Sprinkler Fitter registration requirement (8 CCR 1507-11) applies in Cheyenne Wells regardless of local permitting. change-of-use-permit, by contrast, is 'verified': the Town's own current 2026 Building Permit Application form contains explicit 'CHANGING USE FROM' / 'CHANGING USE TO' fields, confirming change of use is handled on the same combined form as every other permit type, with the same Town Manager inspection / Board of Trustees motion-approval process -- though whether the Town's separate $35 Zoning/Animal Permit Application Fee also applies to a change-of-use filing specifically is not stated in the fee resolution.