Skip to main content
PermitBase

American Fork building permits

Verified

Department contacts, adopted codes, permit types, fees, and gotchas for American Fork, Utah.

Last verified 2026-07-04 · Source · Embed this page’s badge · Version history

Building department

Address
275 East 200 North, American Fork, UT 84003
Phone
801-763-3060
Office hours
Mon–Thu 7:00 AM – 6:00 PM (Building Division checklists list a separate plan-submittal contact line 801-763-3065); closed Fridays, per American Fork City Building Inspection Policies and Procedures (rev. 7/22/2024).

Inspection guide

See how inspections work in American Fork — sequence, scheduling & re-inspection fees.

Codes adopted

Utah adopts construction codes statewide under Utah Code Title 15A (State Construction and Fire Codes Act), enforced by every jurisdiction. Chapter 4 of Title 15A codifies Legislature-enacted amendments for specific named jurisdictions (e.g., Park City, Salt Lake City, Sandy City) as part of the state construction code. Through June 30, 2026, the editions in force under Utah Code § 15A-2-103 are the 2021 IBC (with Appendices C and J), 2021 IRC, 2021 IPC, 2021 IMC, 2021 IFGC, 2021 IECC, 2021 IEBC, and 2021 ISPSC (residential provisions), together with the 2023 NEC. Effective July 1, 2026, § 15A-2-103 adopts the 2024 editions of the IBC, IPC, IMC, IFGC, IECC, IEBC, and ISPSC; the IRC remains the 2021 edition and the NEC remains the 2023 edition. Note: residential energy requirements are modified by statewide amendments, and several Utah jurisdictions document their residential energy provisions at the 2015 IECC level rather than the adopted IECC year — confirm the applicable residential energy code with your local jurisdiction. Always confirm the edition in force with your local jurisdiction.

  • 2024 International Building Code (IBC), including Appendices C and J — CURRENT statewide as of 7/1/2026 per Utah Code § 15A-2-103(1)(a); supersedes the 2021 edition American Fork's official Building Department page still… Show full text

    2024 International Building Code (IBC), including Appendices C and J — CURRENT statewide as of 7/1/2026 per Utah Code § 15A-2-103(1)(a); supersedes the 2021 edition American Fork's official Building Department page still stated as of live-check 2026-07-16: 'the American Fork Building Department uses the 2021 IBC and IRC Code as adopted by the State of Utah,' effective July 1, 2023, per americanfork.gov/173/Building-Department. The 2021 edition applied under the prior version of § 15A-2-103; American Fork's page has not been updated to reflect the 7/1/2026 transition.

  • 2021 International Residential Code (IRC) — REMAINS CURRENT, Utah Code § 15A-2-103(1)(b) did not change this edition in the 7/1/2026 amendment; americanfork.gov/173/Building-Department's statement is correct on this point (no update needed for IRC).
  • 2020 National Electrical Code (NEC) as published by American Fork's own Solar Minimum Plan Requirements checklist — STALE even under the PRIOR version of the statute: the checklist… Show full text

    2020 National Electrical Code (NEC) as published by American Fork's own Solar Minimum Plan Requirements checklist — STALE even under the PRIOR version of the statute: the checklist (americanfork.gov/DocumentCenter/View/13852/Solar-Checklist) explicitly cites '2020 NEC 690.4(C)' and multiple other 2020 NEC section references (690.7, 690.12, 706.15(C), 230.71, 230.62(C)), fetched 2026-07-04 and unconfirmed changed since. The statewide-governing NEC edition is, and remains, the 2023 NEC per Utah Code § 15A-2-103(1)(g) — unchanged by the 7/1/2026 amendment, but American Fork's own document has not been updated to reference it, a pre-existing discrepancy independent of the 2026 code-cycle transition (the same kind of stale-document issue documented for Provo's Building FAQ in provo.json). Reported here as-published rather than corrected, per grounded-data policy of not inventing a fact the city's own source does not state.

  • 2024 International Energy Conservation Code (IECC), single unsplit statewide edition — CURRENT as of 7/1/2026 per Utah Code § 15A-2-103(1)(h); required per American Fork City Residential Plans Minimum Plan Requirements… Show full text

    2024 International Energy Conservation Code (IECC), single unsplit statewide edition — CURRENT as of 7/1/2026 per Utah Code § 15A-2-103(1)(h); required per American Fork City Residential Plans Minimum Plan Requirements checklist (americanfork.gov/DocumentCenter/View/58/Residential-Plan-Checklist): 'Utah Energy Conservation Code requirements. Must have lot, subdivision, and plan number on the Res check submittal.' The checklist itself does not state a specific edition year — the 2024 edition is added here per statute.

  • Utah statewide baseline construction code editions per Utah Code § 15A-2-103, effective 7/1/2026 (superseded 1/1/2027): 2024 IPC (§(1)(d)), 2024 IMC (§(1)(e)), 2024 IFGC (§(1)(f)), 2024 IEBC (§(1)(i)), and the… Show full text

    Utah statewide baseline construction code editions per Utah Code § 15A-2-103, effective 7/1/2026 (superseded 1/1/2027): 2024 IPC (§(1)(d)), 2024 IMC (§(1)(e)), 2024 IFGC (§(1)(f)), 2024 IEBC (§(1)(i)), and the residential provisions of the 2024 ISPSC (§(1)(n)) — none separately itemized on americanfork.gov/173/Building-Department or in American Fork's own checklists; added here per statute since American Fork's own materials omit them.

  • NOTE (2026-07-16 re-verification): The Utah Code § 15A-2-103 version effective 7/1/2026 (superseded 1/1/2027) took effect 15 days before this re-verification. Show full text

    NOTE (2026-07-16 re-verification): The Utah Code § 15A-2-103 version effective 7/1/2026 (superseded 1/1/2027) took effect 15 days before this re-verification. IBC/IPC/IMC/IFGC/IECC/IEBC/residential ISPSC are now 2024 statewide; IRC (2021) and NEC (2023) did NOT change. American Fork's Building Department page (americanfork.gov/173/Building-Department) was live-checked 2026-07-16 and IS STILL LAGGING: it verbatim states 'Beginning July 1, 2023, The American Fork Building Department will be using the 2021 IBC and IRC Code as adopted by the State of Utah' with no update reflecting the 2024 IBC. The IRC portion of that statement remains accurate (2021 IRC is unchanged). No newer American Fork-specific code-adoption notice was found. The Utah Code § 15A-2-103 citation has been added to the sources array below, pointing to the current in-force version link.

Permit types & fees

American Fork's permit history isn't searchable here yet

This page covers what the permit requires. What we don't have for American Fork yet is the record of permits actually issued — the history you'd search by street address. That is a gap in our coverage, not a statement about any particular property.

Your email, and the place — never an address. We only use it to tell you when American Fork lands. Privacy.

New residential construction activity

New privately-owned residential construction only

Housing units authorized by building permits for new privately-owned residential construction — this is not total permit volume (no commercial permits or remodels).

Latest month (2026-07)
5units

5 buildings · $2.9M valuation

Trailing 12 months
189units

12 of 12 months reported · #39 in Utah coverage by units

Year to date (2026 YTD through 2026-07)
118units

118 buildings · $59M valuation

7 month(s) reported to Census

Full year 2025
190units

190 buildings · $88M valuation

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey (BPS), 2026-07 vintage. Census survey data — separate from the permit-requirements verification above. All Utah building activity

Tips & gotchas

  • American Fork Building Division offices are open Monday–Thursday 7:00 AM – 6:00 PM only; closed Fridays.
  • A permit expires if no inspection is conducted within 180 days; resuming work after expiration requires a brand-new permit with new fees and any updated code/regulation requirements — there is no simple extension for inspection-lapsed permits (a separate 'Plan/Permit Approval Extension' fee of $100.00 exists for other extension scenarios per the fee schedule, p.11).
  • Inspections must be requested online via the City Inspect portal at least one working day in advance; no same-day inspections, and inspections cannot be arranged in the field with inspectors on-site.
  • Solar and mechanical-final inspections use narrower scheduling windows (10:00–11:30 AM / 3:00–4:30 PM) than standard building inspections (7:30–11:30 AM / 1:00–4:30 PM).
  • American Fork's own Solar checklist currently cites 2020 NEC section numbers even though Utah Code § 15A-2-103 mandates the 2023 NEC statewide — treat this as a live discrepancy in the city's own published document, not a confirmed 2020 NEC adoption.
  • No jurisdiction-published plan-review or permit-issuance turnaround time (in business or calendar days) was found for any permit type as of 2026-07-04 — every permitType in this record carries reviewTimelineDays: null with a note rather than an estimate.
  • American Fork's fee schedule bundles plumbing and mechanical scope into the general valuation-based building permit for covered project types; there are no separate standalone plumbing or mechanical trade-permit fee line items, unlike some neighboring Utah County jurisdictions.
  • Utah's statewide code baseline moved IBC/IPC/IMC/IFGC/IECC/IEBC and residential ISPSC to 2024 editions on July 1, 2026 per Utah Code § 15A-2-103 (IRC stays 2021, NEC stays 2023). American Fork's Building Department page (americanfork.gov/173/Building-Department) still lags that change — it states that 'the American Fork Building Department uses the 2021 IBC and IRC Code as adopted by the State of Utah,' with nothing reflecting the 2024 IBC. The City's Solar checklist also still cites the 2020 NEC, a separate discrepancy unrelated to the 2026 transition, since the statewide-governing NEC edition (2023) did not change. Confirm which editions the Building Department is applying before you submit.

Comparable nearby cities

Saratoga Springs
Both in Utah County14 shared permit types~14 mi away
Compare fees →
Orem
Both in Utah County13 shared permit types~7 mi away
Compare fees →
Provo
Both in Utah County13 shared permit types~12 mi away
Compare fees →